Big Brother is coming to Canada!

When Big Brother first arrived on US television (which meant I could watch it in Canada), I actually didn’t want the show. It seemed a lot of time to devote to watching one show. One of my friends, however, watched it all the time (she even watching it online!) and told me a lot about the show.

In recent years, I started watching it and couldn’t believe how engaging it was – it really pulled me in and I found myself looking forward to “Big Brother Nights” to see what would happen next!

I couldn’t believe it when I learned that Big Brother is coming to Canada! A recent press released announced that Shaw Media has sealed a deal with Endemol to produce the first ever Canadian instalment of the wildly popular international sensation Big Brother. The inaugural season of Big Brother Canada will air during the 2012/13 broadcast season exclusively on Slice.

True to the U.S. format, Big Brother Canada will hand pick a diverse group of competitive contestants in the Big Brother house outfitted wall to wall with cameras and microphones to capture the house guests’ every move. Week to week the house guests compete in a series of challenges and vote each other out until one claims victory and takes home the grand prize. Fans of Big Brother can connect with the series outside of the 3-day-a-week broadcast through a myriad of digital extensions including live streaming and social engagement opportunities that allow online users to impact decisions in the house.

While I can’t believe I’ll have to wait until next summer, I’m already excited! I wonder if any of my friends will apply?

This entry was posted in Canada, Media, tv and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Big Brother is coming to Canada!

  1. Been watching Big Brother since day one… really love this show… and yes I watched it online also.

  2. Elva Roberts says:

    June 27-I am loathe to admit that I did not watch ‘Big Brother.’–I have family who watched and really loved this show. Now that we are to have our Canadian version, I may watch some episodes to see why some people are so intriqued by it. Thanks for sharing.-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  3. OH MY GOSH!!!! I hadn’t heard this!! VERY COOL! I’ve watched every season!

  4. Mag says:

    It would be neat to see people we know on the show.

  5. Ohhhh I’m so excited!! I love Big Brother!

  6. renee says:

    I have watched every season!

  7. Anne Taylor says:

    I just read this to my almost 21yr old daughter and she said “OH, I want to be on it” lol I think it will be very popular in our house!

  8. Soozle says:

    Very cool! Hopefully it will have the same excitement factor as the US counterpart – and not end up a dud like AMTM Canadian edition!

  9. Ester G says:

    Very cool! I love when they create a Canadian Edition of these interesting shows!

  10. Kathleen Blom says:

    Hopefully the people they pick will be interesting yet show the difference between American and Canadians

  11. Anne Taylor says:

    Did you watch this the other night? We watched it, but I’m still deciding if I liked it or not.

Leave a Reply

