Smarties – do you eat the red ones last?

Smarties are an amazing candy that I loved in my childhood, but I hadn’t eaten any for quite some time (which is too bad as my dad used to say that if I ate Smarties it made me a smartie)! Recently, my husband brought home some Smarties and I realized what I had been missing!

When I was younger, I remember the Smarties jingle from the television ads that asked, “When you eat your Smarties, do you eat the red ones last?”. It’s funny how trying a childhood favourite as an adult can spark these types of memories!

Smarties, sweets, confectionery, confectionary, Nestle, candy, Canadian smarties, smartie

These little chocolate bites are incredibly tasty (and, for me, incredibly addictive). I love that you can eat them one by one, crunching through the candy coating and retrieving the chocolate centre, or you can stick a whole handful in your mouth at once and enjoy the combination of crunchiness and chocolate at the same time!

I was surprised to find, when doing some reading online, that Smarties apparently as available in the UK and Canada, but you can’t get them in the United States. Is that true?

What are your favourite chocolate treats?

(Photo credit: Alexandre Duret-Lutz from http://www.flickr.com/photos/gadl/269616249 – under Creative Commons License)

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Smarties – do you eat the red ones last?

  1. I don’t believe I’ve ever had Smarties, but now I’m intrigued and want to try them! They sound pretty tasty!

  2. REAL Smarties!!! I’m from the UK but live in the US, and they don’t have Smarties here. There is another candy that is called Smarties, but it is completely different.

  3. Shannon says:

    I am in US and our Smarties are different but those look YUMMY! I want. 🙂

Leave a Reply

