Same Name, Different People

Years ago, I met a woman who had the same name. I had seen her photo in the local paper and we had mutual acquaintances so I knew that she existed. When we met, it was a funny and awkward moment.  While the running joke is that I am her “namesake”  – as I am younger –  we really had nothing in common. She is lovely and she makes me smile when I do run into her, but we are two different people who happen to share the same name.

mistaken as, mistaken for, I was mistaken, same name

I was fascinated when I turned on The Oprah Winfrey Show and found Oprah interviewing a young man named Wes Moore. He has chronicled his story into a book called The Other Wes Moore. Wes had based his book upon an experience he’d had as a young man – while he was working through challenges in his life, he learned that another young man, with the same name, had been arrested in hometown and was serving a life sentence for first-degree murder. Wes Moore decided to contact him and found himself on a journey of discovery about how two young men, from very similar backgrounds and with the same name, could end up in two such very different places.

Oprah interviewed Wes Moore (the author) but they were unable to interview the other Wes Moore. The mothers of both Wes Moores did come and speak with Oprah as well and it was interesting to hear their perceptions about their own lives and the lives of their children.

Though I am not a regular viewer, I found this episode to be engaging. I plan on reading this book because I want to know more based on what I saw on the program.

If you are interested in learning more about this episode, check out Oprah’s site and you can get more information about the Wes Moore’s book here.

(Photo credit: Stefan Baudy from http://www.flickr.com/photos/-bast-/349497988/ – under Creative Commons License)

This entry was posted in Books, Media, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Same Name, Different People

  1. Alison says:

    Wow that sounded like a great episode! My mother probably watched it haha. But very cool to see how two people with the same name each took their life journies!

Leave a Reply

