Turner Week – Day 1- Memphis Beat (and a giveaway!)

Jason Lee, memphis beat tv show, tnt series

I have never had a chance to see the new series Memphis Beat but I love police dramas and I love music so sounds like a show with a lot of potential!

According to their website, “Memphis Beat centers on Dwight Hendricks (Jason Lee), a quirky Memphis police detective with an intimate connection to the city, a passion for blues music and a close relationship with his mother. He is “the keeper of Memphis,” a Southern gentleman who is protective of his fellow citizens, reverential of the city’s history and deeply rooted in its blues music scene.” The series also “co-stars DJ Qualls as Davey Sutton, a uniform cop who considers himself to be Dwight’s protege. Also starring are Celia Weston (Junebug) as Dwight’s effervescent mother; Sam Hennings (Saving Grace) as Charlie White, aka Whitehead, Dwight’s seasoned, hypertensive partner; Leonard Earl Howze (Barbershop) as Reginald Greenback, a fellow detective struggling to make ends meet with two teenage daughters; and Abraham Benrubi (ER) as Sgt. JC Lightfoot, an officer who uses Chickasaw tribal wisdom in his police work.”

I’ve always liked Jason Lee as an actor – he has played many memorable roles in movies I’ve really enjoyed (including Chasing Amy, Vanilla Sky and Stealing Harvard to name just a few). I’d love to see him in Memphis Beat because I think he is a talented actor!

I also noticed that one of the co-stars of the series is DJ Qualls and, as soon as I saw his photo, I recognized him straight away! I’ve seen him in guest roles on numerous series (including Big Bang Theory, CSI, Numbers and Criminal Minds) and I think he is a great actor so that makes this series even more appealing to me!

Memphis Beat airs on Tuesdays at 10 PM (9 Central). The season finale is on Tuesday so if you enjoy the show, be sure to watch!

To celebrate this show, one lucky US reader is going to receive a Memphis-Beat inspired prize: 3 guitar picks and Memphis Original BBQ Sauce.

Remember, you must complete the mandatory entry in order for your extra entries to count (entries without the mandatory first entry will be discarded)!

Mandatory Entry: Leave me a comment and let me know who your favourite character is on Memphis Beat (if you haven’t seen the show you can tell me why you think you’d enjoy it)

Additional Entries:
-follow me on Twitter @ReviewCorner (1 entry)
-”like” my Facebook fan page – include your Facebook name (1 entry)
-put my button on your blog – leave your website address (1 entry)
-blog about the giveaway – leave a link to your post (1 entry)
– sign up to receive email updates– include the email address you used (2 entries – enter each one separately)
– sign up to receive RSS feeds – include the email address you used (2 entries – enter each one separately)
-tweet the following (1 entry per day – please include the link to your tweet): Win a Memphis Beat prize pack @ReviewCorner http://wp.me/p10r9i-1W ends Sept 10th

*Contest closes at 6:00 pm EST on Friday, September 10th. Open to residents of the US, 18+ years of age*

Winner will be contacted with the email left in the post and will have 2 days to respond. Once confirmed, the winner be posted on this site.

 

This entry was posted in Media, Review, tv and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Turner Week – Day 1- Memphis Beat (and a giveaway!)

  1. susan smoaks says:

    fb fan tony l smoaks

  2. susan smoaks says:

    email subscriber

  3. susan smoaks says:

    feed subscriber

  4. susan smoaks says:

  5. Diane Baum says:

    I haven’t seen the show, but the story line sounds good and my family lives in Memphis!

  6. lilshuga2001 says:

    Dwight all the way!@

  7. lilshuga2001 says:

    Subscriber 1

  8. Jane Hoh says:

    Davey is by far my favorite. Thank you for the opportunity to win this.

  9. Donna K says:

    It looks like a good show, but I have never seen it.

  10. Donna K says:

    I follow you on twitter.(donnak4)

  11. Donna K says:

    I liked you on facebook (Donna Kozar)

  12. Donna K says:

    I subscribed on google reader.
    donna444444@yahoo.com

  13. Donna K says:

    2.I subscribed on google reader.
    donna444444@yahoo.com

Comments are closed.