If you need me, I’ll be cleaning!

With all the fun and excitement of summer, one of the things we try to do in our house before the school year starts is to go on a huge cleaning spree!

We marked the calendar and (yippee!) the “back to school” clean is set for today!

We try to make it fun by finding ways to turn it into a game! We make up a scavenger hunt of things we are trying to find in the house (such as “1 point if you find a set of keys”). The winner gets to pick where we go out to celebrate a clean house!

Another way we’ve found to make the cleaning easier is to make it a truly “team” effort! Everyone has tasks to do and there are rewards for getting the job done!

Today’s cleaning job is taking a lot of effort! No one really wants to clean (including my husband), so it is going to take extra-super motivation to get this house sorted out!

Although I’m never excited at the idea of doing a complete top-to-bottom cleaning of our house either, I’m always thrilled when I see the results!

Wish us luck!

This entry was posted in Home and Appliances, Organization and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to If you need me, I’ll be cleaning!

  1. I loathe cleaning my house…but with a birthday party and huge BBQ going on it has to be done!

  2. I am like this too! I find it much easier to start school with a clean house – it’s a mental thing, I think. We’re going to tackle a good portion of our house this weekend. I feel like I ought to have a GPS tracking device somewhere on me before I enter the girls’ bedrooms so that they can find my body if I don’t emerge after a week.

  3. Robin says:

    You have some good hints there. Too bad I am the only one who would participate here. My toddler prefers to follow me around recreating messes.

  4. I LOVE having a clean house — I’m such a creature of environment and if my house is clean, I am a much saner, nicer, more peaceful person. Good idea having a big cleaning overhaul to coincide with the start of school!

  5. Cheryl says:

    I’m a TERRIBLE housekeeper, but I’ve been doing MUCH better since we moved into our house that is HUGE. If I let it all add up, I’d never get it all done! Good for you!

  6. Eve says:

    What a great idea! I need to try something like that here- it may help get my hubby involved a little more!

  7. write girl says:

    I’m with you on this one! My son actually started school today and I got at it! I was holding off ’cause we’re going to be moving but today I just couldn’t take it anymore, so I set about organizing and sorting for our pre-move yard sale! Happy New School Year!

  8. Daniella says:

    I’m addicted to cleaning once I start I don’t stop so I can’t stop!!!

Leave a Reply

