Safety and Security – Fellowes’ P-12C Shredder

In an increasingly complex world, I think that identity theft is an important topic. According a recent report issued by Javelin Strategy and Research’s 2010 Identity Fraud Survey Report, issues surrounding identity theft impacted 11.1 million Americans last year, which was an increase of 12 percent from the year before. Statistics like this one boggle my mind because I want to do everything I can to keep my family safe! As a result, I have been shredding documents for many years as one means of actively working to avoid being the subject of identity theft.

Given the extensive use of my previous shredder, it finally died a couple of monthes ago so I was quite excited at the opportunity to review the new P-12C shredder from Fellowes! According to Fellowes, the P-12C “is an innovative and affordable machine, and features Fellowes’ industry-leading technologies” because it has a number of different features, including: “Fellowes’ patented SafeSense technology, an electronic sensor that surrounds the machine’s paper opening and shuts it down when hands come close”; “Cross-Cut technology, and a slim profile design, which allows it to fit easily under a home office desk”; and “an easy-to-use pull-out bin and has the ability to shred staples, credit cards and paper clips”.

I did a lot of shredding when I received it because I had a couple of monthes worth of documents that I wanted to shred. I found, as I used it, that I loved the fact that it was able to shred multiple pages at the same time without having to worry about a jam! I also liked the fact that I didn’t have to remove any of the staples (as I’ve ruined more manicures than I care to admit when trying to remove staples) and I was even able to shred some outdated cards that I never would have tried to do with my old shredder!

I also liked the appearance of the Fellowes’ P-12C shredder — it is sleek and modern looking so it fits in with our home decor and sits in a prominent area in our home office space.
The only downside that I found to the P-12C shredder was the sound that it makes while it is shredding. It is in no way a quiet machine. I’d actually have to say that it is quite loud! That being said, given all the things that it is able to do, I think that the noise is a small price to pay for its superior ability!

I would recommend Fellowes’ P-12C Shredder to anyone who wants a high quality shredder that works consistently and can shred a large number of different things. The Fellowes’ P-12C has a suggested retail price of $84.99 and is available at Target stores nationwide (across the United States).

 

This entry was posted in Review. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Safety and Security – Fellowes’ P-12C Shredder

  1. Brandy says:

    I have one of their larger shredders and LOVE LOVE It!

  2. Louise says:

    Looks like a great shredder. I have a big one from Costco, we shred a lot

  3. I so need a Shredder we’ve been borrowing my FIL and it’s getting harder and harder to do that. I’ve had two different and both of them broke
    this one looks like a good one

  4. Mallery says:

    I think a shredder is a must have item and this is an attractive model.

  5. Rachel says:

    That looks like a VERY nice shredder — my husband is adamant about shredding anything that could be a source of identity theft. We shred EVERYTHING.

  6. I love that it does paper clips, that’s just cool! Must be pretty strong to do that.

  7. I absolutely love the safe-sense thing on this one! No more worrying about little fingers!

  8. Sam says:

    This looks great! Thanks for sharing.

  9. Whitney says:

    It is very neat that you don’t have to worry about removing staples. I have to agree that this looks sleek too.

Leave a Reply

