Eating Animals – Review and Giveaway (US and Canada)

In recent years, there has been a lot of discussion about the treatment of animals that are farmed as a food source, as well as a number of terms being used such as “free-range”, “organic” and “genetically modified”. While I have read some articles on the subject and watched a number of documentaries on these topics, I still felt like I didn’t have a solid understanding of all of the issues around how meat products that my family eats are raised or treated. I was interested in reading Eating Animals because I wanted to read the author’s perspective on this topic.

In Eating Animals, by Jonathan Safran Foer, looks at the subject of how animals, specifically those which are farmed as a food source, are treated and the effect that choosing to eat animals has on the world in a variety of ways. Foer also talks about his personal connection to this topic that was renewed when his first child was born.

One thing I really liked about this book was that it wasn’t preachy! As a meat eater, I was afraid that this book would simply be a discussion about all the wrongs of eating meat and about why people who choose to eat meat, like myself, are bad people. What I found was quite the opposite. In Eating Animals, Foer makes a point of conveying anecdotal stories and narratives of people with a variety of perspectives who are stakeholders in this subject. The fact that he was willing to provide such a variety of perspectives gives this book another dimension as it is a thoughtful discussion rather than a forceful argument.

I also found it interesting that Foer chose to include what I first thought was a glossary of terms within the book and near its beginning. Entitled “Words/Meaning”, I was puzzled at their inclusion within the book at first. I quickly realized, however, that that Foer had chose to include explanations of these words and phrases within the book because he wanted to ensure that readers understood the complexity of these ideas instead of assuming a simplistic understanding. I really appreciate the inclusion of this section of the book because it helped to develop my understanding of words and phrases I’d often heard but didn’t fully understand.

While Eating Animals has not converted me to veganism or vegetarianism, I believe I have taken away some key ideas and, by reading this book, I have developed a stronger understanding of the subject. I believe that, by reading this book, I will think more critically about the meat-related choices that I make – which is what I believe was one of Foer’s main intentions. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone interested in learning more about animals in terms of meat products and the world around them!

Giveaway: Three readers from US or Canada (excluding Quebec) will win each win a copy of Eating Animals from Hatchette Press (please note: Winners will be subject to the one copy per household rule, which means that if they win the same title in two or more contests, they will receive only one copy of the title).

Remember, you must complete the mandatory entry in order for your extra entries to count (entries without the mandatory first entry will be discarded)!

Mandatory Entry: Tell me why you are interested in reading this book (AND include your email address!)

Additional Entries:
– sign up to receive email updates (or tell me you already receive them)– include the email address you used (3 entries – enter each one separately)
– sign up to receive RSS feeds (or tell me you already receive them) – include the email address you used (3 entries – enter each one separately)
-follow me on Twitter @ReviewCorner (2 entries – enter each one separately)
-”like” my Facebook fan page – include your Facebook name (2 entries – enter each one separately)
-comment on one of my other non-giveaway posts (just tell me which one) (1 entry per comment – limit 1 per post)
-put my button on your blog – leave your website address (1 entry)
-blog about the giveaway – leave a link to your post (1 entry)

-tweet the following (1 entry per day – please include the link to your tweet): Win a copy of Eating Animals (Canada&US) @ReviewCorner http://wp.me/p10r9i-8N ends Oct 29th #giveaway

*Contest closes at 6:00 pm EST on Friday, October 29th. Open to residents of the US or Canada (excluding Quebec), 18+ years of age*

Winner will be contacted with the email left in the post and will have 2 days to respond. Once confirmed, the winner be posted on this site.

 

This entry was posted in Giveaway, Review. Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Eating Animals – Review and Giveaway (US and Canada)

  1. Ed Nemmers says:

    I recently saw the movie “Everything Is Illuminated”, based on his book and would like to read this!

  2. Pingback: Last call for 3 great giveaways (all open to the US AND Canada)! « My Little Review Corner

  3. Derk Thomas says:

    I would like to read this book to get an idea on how others think.

    thomasfam8 at aol.com

  4. Darcy B says:

    I would like to read this book because I loved “Everything is Illuminated” (his last book)–and I would love to read Eating Animals –I’m also a vege.

  5. Darcy B says:

    subscribe by email at kakihararocks@gmail.com
    entry #1

  6. Darcy B says:

    subscribe by email at kakihararocks@gmail.com
    entry #2

  7. Darcy B says:

    subscribe by email at kakihararocks@gmail.com
    entry #3

  8. Susan Smith says:

    I’d like to read this book because I’m thinking about becoming a vegetarian

  9. Susan Smith says:

    Like you on facebook Susan Smith #1

  10. Susan Smith says:

    Like you on facebook Susan Smith #2

  11. susan smoaks says:

    i would love to read this book because i really think i should be a vegan

    susansmoaks@gmail.com

  12. Veronica Garrett says:

    I’m interested in reading this book because I want to read a thoughtful discussion on the subject. I have hears so much discussion on the subject.

    garrettsambo@aol.com

  13. vivian says:

    interseted in getting this book to get others in my family to become veg ty.

    vivianbl@olg.com

  14. Sand says:

    I’ve heard a lot of great things about this book and have been thinking about changing my eating habits.

    atreau@gmail.com

Comments are closed.