Harry Potter: A Pop-Up Book – Review

I must admit that I am truly a big kid at heart. I loved the Harry Potter books and the movies. One of my favourite aspect of the world of Harry Potter is the vivid settings and characters! For that reason, I was excited to have the opportunity to read and review a copy of the Harry Potter: A Pop-Up Book. I hoped that the illustrations in this pop-up book would be as engaging and detailed as they appear in the books and the movies.

As described in their press release, the Harry Potter: A Pop-Up Book has “five main pops, side pops, and interactive features… [and] takes readers on a grand tour of the Harry Potter™ world, themes or spreads include: Diagon Alley, Hogwarts, Magical Creatures, Magical Sports and Games, and The Dark Arts featuring original artwork by Andrew Williamson, the concept artist for all eight Harry Potter™ movies. See Nagini uncoil on the page, witness Harry face the Hungarian Horntail dragon, open Ronʼs Howler, peek at Hedwig in her cage, and enjoy the many other recreations of the world of the Harry Potter™ films.

When the book arrived, I got really excited and opened up the book quickly, when I realized was a huge mistake! By doing so, I pulled off one of the tabs for the first large pop-up. For that reason (though it was my fault for opening the book too roughly!), I would suggest opening the book gently one page at a time when you first read it to ensure the tabs don’t get pulled out by someone as excited as me!

The book itself is absolutely gorgeous! While that is not usually a word I’d use to describe a book, I was amazed by the beauty of the illustrations and the detail in the book! I found the pop-up illustrations particularly brilliant because of the detail in all dimensions of the book! Many other pop-up books I have read have only had detailed illustrations on the side of the image that is facing the reader when the book is opened. In contrast (and much to my delight) in the Harry Potter Pop-up book there are detailed images on both sides of each of the pop-ups! I loved it because it was like looking at a three-dimensional image of the illustrations and they were vivid and engaging!

In addition to the pop-up illustrations, I also engaged the other elements of the book. I liked the other illustrations and “secret” compartments that could be opened to reveal illustrations and other information about Harry Potter’s world. I thought it was fun and I think that children of all ages and adults alike would truly enjoy this book! I’d recommend this book to anyone who loves Harry Potter or enjoys a beautifully-illustrated book!

If you’d like to learn more about the book, check out the trailer. The Harry Potter: A Pop-Up Book is available for purchase at Amazon.com.

 

This entry was posted in Books, Family fun, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Harry Potter: A Pop-Up Book – Review

  1. Nichol says:

    Wow my son would absolutely love this book. The pop ups look truly amazing. This is definitely on the list for my son. Great review.

  2. I have friends that love Harry Potter – this would be a great gift for them!

  3. Penelope says:

    oh my gosh, I would love this for ME! I am the biggest Harry Potter dork ever, I love those books and reread them all the time. This book looks awesome! (Thanks, now my husband is going to be mad at you when I come home with one of these)

  4. Henrietta says:

    Oh my gosh! That book looks amazing! My daughter was standing behind me when I opened the web page and she said “I WANT that!” so do I!

  5. Stefani says:

    My daughter Ariyona has read all the Harry Potter books. This popup book looks pretty cool!

  6. Sam says:

    That is so cool! I love Harry Potter too. I keep watching the previews for the next movie and I can hardly wait, lol.

  7. Kathleen says:

    That book looks amazing. My boys love Harry Potter and I know they would love that pop up book. It is definitely better than the ones I had as a kid. 🙂

  8. Blommi says:

    Wow, that castle is soooo cool. Love it.

  9. Bruce Foster says:

    Thank you for the great review! I love J.K. Rowling’s magnificent series, so it was a joy to design all the pop ups for this book. Hope you all enjoy it!

    Bruce Foster, paper engineer
    http://www.paperpops.com

  10. Nel says:

    Wow, I had no idea they were coming out with a pop-up version, but it looks good. Your review is great and detailed, I like that you included different pictures.

  11. Nelly says:

    Wow, the pictures of the book are amazing, this makes the book more fun to read

  12. Pop up books are so cool! My kids would love this one!

Leave a Reply

