Dewey’s Nine Lives – Review

About a week ago I received a copy of DEWEY’S NINE LIVES: The Legacy of the Small-Town Library Cat Who Inspired Millions, by Vicki Myron and Bret Witter to read. I wasn’t sure how I would feel about this book. While I have lived with cats at various points in my life (and I’m a HUGE Garfield fan), I’ve never really considered myself a “cat person”. For that reason, I didn’t know whether I’d love this book or not.

I quickly learned that this book touched my heart in ways I didn’t think was possible! The book opens with a story about Dewey, the cat who was featured in Vicki’s first book, Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World. The book includes a variety of other stories about people and their cats (including one couple who had a huge number of cats at a resort that they ran!) and how these cats impacted their owners’ lives. My favourite story was the one about Spooky, who helped his owner overcome PTSD and seemed to be the cat that defied the odds! I also loved the story about the couple who ran the resort that became a cat haven – especially when the story included the husband’s daily routine and discussed how he didn’t really like cats but had come to be their keeper because I could really relate to him!

DEWEY’S NINE LIVES: The Legacy of the Small-Town Library Cat Who Inspired Millions, is a wonderful and touching collection of stories that I think will appeal to both cat lovers and those who are interested in how pets can enhance someone’s life!

 

This entry was posted in Giveaway, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dewey’s Nine Lives – Review

  1. Marjorie says:

    This book sounds wonderful and I would love to win and read it.

  2. Jodi says:

    I have always had a love of cats…but live with dogs! I laughed at your comment that you love Garfield…haha there are no cats like Garfield (I wish though!)

  3. dianad says:

    I am a cat lover and would love to win this book. Thanks for the wonderful giveaway

  4. dianad says:

    I am an email subscriber. Thanks again

  5. Kathleen says:

    Sounds like a cute book with an amazing story. Thanks for the great review, I am always looking for new books.

Leave a Reply

