Monster Factory – don’t let the name fool you!

When I first heard about the Monster Factory, I wasn’t sure whether they’d be something of interest to my family because I always picture “monsters” as ugly and nasty beings. Was I ever in for a surprise!

The “monsters” at the Monster Factory are absolutely ADORABLE!

The creation of three obviously creatively-minded individuals, Adam Dunn, Rhya Tamasauskas, and Bliss Man. According to their website, “[t]ogether they design and create engaging monster characters who live in a strangely familiar world. Combining their backgrounds in film, art, and fashion, the creators have developed a strong sense of collaboration that affects every aspect of their process from storytelling to product design. Their efforts have produced countless monster characters who, despite their appearances, are just like you and me.”

AND, I have mentioned they are Canadian? Yes, these little critters are made in Canada – I’m always excited to see fun and creative things come out from Canada!

There are number of fun creatures available at the Monster Factory, including the Super Happy Friends Club and Earthlings and Buddy and Friends (see – I told you they were cute!).

Personally, my favourite group in the Monster Factory collective are the characters in the 8 Bits collection so I was thrilled when we had the chance to review two of these critters!

We received Maggie and Colin to review and, from the time I opened the box, they became a huge hit with the whole family!

Both Maggie and Colin have become household fixtures because we all love them! Maggie, who is described on the website as a monster who “has got a vivid imagination. She never lets the facts get in the way of a good story” just makes me smile whenever I see her because she is so adorable! As much as I love Maggie, though, I must admit that Colin is my favourite! Described on the website as a character who “divides his time between playing video games and fretting about his future” just makes me giggle – I love his hoodie and the fact that he has little hands that you can take in and out of the pockets!

I’m really impressed with Maggie and Colin because they truly have become family toys – the kids like them and we like playing with them too! There is something about the Monster Factory that appeals to the kid in all of us!

Monster Factorytoys are available at number of stores in both Canada and will be coming soon to the United States as well! In Canada, you can also buy some of the Monster Factory characters at Chapters Indigoand in Canada and the US at Hot Topic.

With the holiday season approaching, Monster Factory toys are the perfect gift for both kids and the young at heart!

 

This entry was posted in Family fun, Review, toys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monster Factory – don’t let the name fool you!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Monster Factory – don’t let the name fool you! « My Little Review Corner | Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger | Blogger Spotlights -- Topsy.com

  2. Rob says:

    Those are sooo cute. Shae would love these. Thanks for sharing.

  3. These are serious darling! I love it!

  4. Ok those are seriously the cutest things I’ve ever seen! My girls would LOVE these!

  5. Sam says:

    They are adorable! My kids would love them.

  6. These look sooooo cool. My kids would love them!!!

  7. Louise says:

    They are ugly and cute at the same time. I just don’t know what to think!

  8. Michelle says:

    These creatures are all unique and adorable. I follow you on FB. Michelle greenfieldrr1@hotmail.com

  9. Stefani says:

    These look pretty neat for kids. I wasn’t sure what to expect at first with the post title, but very cute!

Leave a Reply

