Le Cordon Bleu cookbooks – Review

My culinary history is a bit more than embarassing. I grew up in a household where both of my parents cooked (in retrospect, they didn’t cook WELL but they did cook – sorry Mom and Dad!). When I was a single student, I often cooked for myself. Again, I don’t think I actually cooked very well but I had mastered what I would call “functional cooking” – I cooked in order to survive! When I met my future husband, I realized two different things: 1) in relationships, different people have different strengths and weaknesses and you work together to play off of one another’s strengths and 2) one of my future husband’s strengths was cooking. So cooking became one of his roles in our household and I basically stopped cooking!

I know….I can hear a number of wives sighing because they’d love to have a husband that cooks. And I do appreciate what he does. That being said, however, I used to physically enjoy cooking (even if I wasn’t that great at it) and I do miss it at times. I watch the Food Network in awe at the skills shown by different chefs and I dream about actually becoming a good cook!

The Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations book has everything I need! It has tonnes of photos showing everything step by step! It explains, with photos, the different ways of cutting vegetables, different classical cooking techniques and even visual explanations of the different cuts of meat on different animals! I’ve actually been reading my way through the book because it I love actually learning and understanding what the different techniques and terminologies entail. I’m already starting to utilize some of what I’ve learned and eventually take a larger role in hosting the dinner parties that we have (rather than simply playing hostess!).

In addition to the Foundations book, I also received a Classic Recipes book that lays out some classic recipes in an easy to follow layout with photos that has allowed me to start applying the knowledge I’ve gained from the Foundations book. I want to incorporate some of these recipes at our future dinner parties as well!

I was THRILLED when I received the opportunity to try out the Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundation because I realized it was much more than an ordinary cookbook and perfect for someone like me – a person with passion for food and a desire to learn proper techniques! These books are staples in my kitchen now and for the years to come!

You can buy the Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations book at Amazon.com and the Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations: Classic Recipes at Amazon.com as well. If you’d like to give them to a special someone as a set, you can also purchase a Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations Gift Package at Amazon.com.

 

This entry was posted in Books, Food, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

329 Responses to Le Cordon Bleu cookbooks – Review

  1. Deb Anderson says:

    Facebook Deb Anderson tnshadylady

  2. Deb Anderson says:

    #2 Facebook Deb Anderson tnshadylady

  3. Deb Anderson says:

Comments are closed.