Clinton St. Baking Company Cookbook Review

When I read cookbooks (yes, I actually enjoy sitting and reading cookbooks in the same that I enjoy reading novels, strange as that may sound!), I find that the ones I enjoy the most and get the most inspiration from are those that are written by people whose love for their recipes and their food are obvious through their writing. When I received a copy of the Clinton St. Baking Company Cookbook by DeDe Lahman and Neil Kleinberg, I was immediately enthralled for a few years. First off, the cover their cookbook is absolutely beautiful – I wanted to dive into the cookbook right away, make those pancakes and eat them! – and, secondly, their passion for their food is obvious and motivating to the cook in me! Finally, to me personally, how could I NOT love a cookbook that is devoted to breakfast and brunch foods? (Anyone who knows me is acutely aware of the fact that I could eat breakfast/brunch-based meals all day, every day).

The books starts with an introduction to the story of how DeDe and Neil started the Clinton St. Baking Company which made me even more interested in the rest of the cookbook because I found their tale of passion and food to be interesting and personal. As I began reading through the recipes, I found that many of them started with little tidbits about the history of the dish, how Neil cultivated a recipe and other fascinating facts that added another dimension to the recipes – the love that DeDe and Neil feel for their food is so obvious that it is contagious!

From sweet treats (such as Homemade Carmelized Applesauce to Blueberry Crumb Muffins and Scones) to more savory fare (including Spring Pea Puree Soup and Spanish Scramble). There are also sections on Sauces (which I am looking forward to trying out because there are a number of recipes for sauces I’ve tried at restaurants but didn’t know how to make myself) as well as Desserts and Drinks. Of all the recipes included in this cookbook, the one I’m looking forward to making (I think I’m going to try my hand at it over Christmas) is the Black and White Cake – if it tastes half as good as it looks and sounds in the recipe than I think it will be a hit with the whole family!

I’m truly impressed with the Clinton St. Baking Company Cookbook. I think it contains a variety of interesting and tasty recipes and, at the same time, conveys the passion of the owners of the Clinton St. Baking Company!

 

This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Clinton St. Baking Company Cookbook Review

  1. Laura says:

    Their sweet treats sound delicious, especially the blueberry scones. Yum!

  2. Cindy Orley says:

    Love cookbooks with extra info on the cooks and recipes, this looks like a great cookbook.

  3. This looks like a great cookbook!

Leave a Reply

