Bonanza DVD Review

Two of my fondest memories of my childhood are directly related to the television series Bonanza! As a little girl, I didn’t share a lot of common interests with my dad – he enjoyed things like fishing and collecting stamps, while I enjoyed doing things like playing with my dolls. One thing we both enjoyed, however, was watching Bonanza together! As a result, I loved the times we spent watching this show together because it was quality “daddy-daughter time”!

My grandparents were also Bonanza fans, so I remember sitting in their house watching Bonanza with them as well. I remember my grandmother explaining to me that Lorne Greene (who played Ben) was Canadian and I also remember thinking about how handsome I thought Michael Landon (who played Little Joe) was!


© 2010 Universal Inc.  All Rights Reserved.

Though my grandparents have long passed away, when I had the opportunity to review BONANZA: THE OFFICIAL SECOND SEASON, VOLUME ONE, I thought of my dad right away and jumped at the opportunity! Even before the dvd arrived, when I told my dad that I was going to be reviewing this dvd set, and asked if he wanted to watch it with me, his eyes lit right up! Though I haven’t been a little girl for a long time, it is nice to have a chance to experience “daddy-daughter time” with Bonanza again!

Described as “[o]ne of the longest running and most popular of all television westerns, Bonanza was both an action/adventure classic and family drama. For fourteen seasons, audiences enthusiastically tuned in to see the High-Sierra adventures of the Cartwright clan. Nestled amongst the pines above the shores of Lake Tahoe is the Ponderosa ranch, the thousand-acre home of Ben Cartwrignt and his sons, Adam, Hoss and Joe (aka “Little Joe.”) Plots featuring revolving cast of interesting guest players helped to set Bonanza apart from the usual gun-slinging formula Westerns of the day.”

And, when the DVD arrived, it didn’t disappoint! It was great to see Lorne Greene, Michael Landon, Dan Blocker (Hoss) and Pernell Roberts (Adam) in all their glory! I also found it amazing at how crisp and clear the picture and sound were – it is hard to believe that the episodes originally aired almost 50 years ago! It was really fun to relive this series – it reminded me why I loved the Ponderosa Ranch so much as a little girl! I appreciated having the chance to watch these episodes again because the ones I remember are from the later seasons so it is doubly cool to see some of the early episodes of the show!

With the busyness of the upcoming holiday season, I haven’t had a chance to watch the DVD yet with my dad. We have made plans, however, to watch some of the episodes over the holiday season. I can’t wait to see my dad’s excitement over Bonanza!

 

This entry was posted in Family fun, Media, Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

275 Responses to Bonanza DVD Review

  1. Terri Dell says:

    1 Subscribed to RSS with Google Reader
    Ziggywag at yahoo dot com

  2. Terri Dell says:

    2 Subscribed to RSS with Google Reader
    Ziggywag at yahoo dot com

  3. Terri Dell says:

    3 Subscribed to RSS with Google Reader
    Ziggywag at yahoo dot com

  4. Terri Dell says:

    1 Twitter Follower – @Ziggywag
    Ziggywag at yahoo dot com

  5. Terri Dell says:

    2 Twitter Follower – @Ziggywag
    Ziggywag at yahoo dot com

  6. Terri Dell says:

    1 Like you on Facebook Terri Dell
    Ziggywag at yahoo dot com

  7. Terri Dell says:

    2 Like you on Facebook Terri Dell
    Ziggywag at yahoo dot com

  8. Terri Dell says:

    tweet Ziggywag at yahoo dot com

  9. tallcapp says:

    I plan to watch this with my older granddaughter as I feel this is a DVD we could share.

  10. Diane Baum says:

    I will watch it with my son.

  11. Beverly M says:

    I would watch Bonanza with a friend. He loves watching Bonanza as much as I do. Thanks for having the giveaway!

  12. Glogirl says:

    Daily Tweet:

  13. DanV says:

    I’d watch with my family

  14. kathy pease says:

    id watch this with my hubby he loves bonanza

  15. kathy pease says:

    1 email subscriber
    kathypease(at)gmail(dot)com

  16. kathy pease says:

    2 email subscriber
    kathypease(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. kathy pease says:

    3 email subscriber
    kathypease(at)gmail(dot)com

  18. kathy pease says:

    1 rss google feed subscriber
    kathypease(at)gmail(dot)com

  19. kathy pease says:

    2 rss google feed subscriber
    kathypease(at)gmail(dot)com

  20. kathy pease says:

    3 rss google feed subscriber
    kathypease(at)gmail(dot)com

  21. kathy pease says:

    1 like you on facebook kathy l pease
    kathypease(at)gmail(dot)com

  22. kathy pease says:

    2 like you on facebook kathy l pease
    kathypease(at)gmail(dot)com

  23. kathy pease says:

  24. Sand says:

    I would watch it with my father, he loves westerns!

  25. Veronica Garrett says:

    I plan on watching it with my daughter.

Comments are closed.