What to Read Wednesday – Cross Fire by James Patterson

As I mentioned recently, I have to confess to being a HUGE James Patterson fan and, of all of his books (and he has written many!) my favourite character is Alex Cross. I have been following the adventures of Alex Cross since Patterson’s first novel that included him as the main character and I continue to love him to this day! For that reason, I was really excited when I had the chance to read Patterson’s latest Alex Cross novel, Cross Fire.

In Cross Fire, we see Alex getting ready to marry Bree – a much more stable woman than the mother of his youngest son. Everything seems to be coming together in Alex’s life – so what can go wrong now? Things take an interesting twist when the readers learn that Kyle Craig (Alex’s nemesis) is alive and well and continuing to gun for Alex to get retribution for the perceived wrongs Kyle feels that Alex has inflicted upon him. Add to that mix a pair of snipers with a definite agenda (even if they are not both aware of what it truly is) and Alex finds moments where he is racing against the clock to stop the snipers, facing an enemy that is hiding in plain site and trying to find some semblence of normalcy in his home and family life.

Throughout all of the events in Cross Fire, the action continues to be fresh and interesting, the plot is diverse and engaging and I felt, as a reader, I was again rooting for Alex to find some closure with his past and have some happiness in his marriage to Bree.

I would thoroughly recommend Cross Fire to any Patterson fans or, realistically, any fan of suspense novels. Though I found it even more interesting because I had read the previous novels in this series, a new reader to this series could easily read this novel on its own.

 

This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What to Read Wednesday – Cross Fire by James Patterson

  1. Deborah in Atlanta says:

    I’m a huge James Patterson fan as well, and love his Alex Cross books. Thanks for the book review. I’ve got “Cross Fire” on my wish list, and hope to get it soon. Thanks! dmj53(at)hotmail(dot)com

  2. Becca says:

    I can’t wait to read this one. I feel like the Alex Cross series just keeps getting better!

  3. Jan says:

    Just finished Cross Fire . I really enjoyed it….especially the reference to Detective Boxer on the last page. Wondering if the next book in the Women’s Murder Club will have Cross and Boxer solving a case.

Leave a Reply

