Blogstar Spotlight Saturday – Fab Grandma!

It’s time once again for the Blogstar Spotlight Saturday! This week’s Blogstar is Fab Grandma!

Welcome to my blog!
I love to do interviews!
And I’m glad you are here! 🙂

1. Tell me a little bit about yourself.
My husband and I sold our house and all our “stuff” in August of 2000, bought a travel trailer, and hit the road. Well, almost. We worked at the campground 10 miles from where our house was for the first year. Since then, we have worked and lived in Georgia, Florida, Texas, Virginia, Pennsylvania, Kansas, Arizona and Alabama. For the last three years, we have worked at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon for the National Park Service from April thru October. I absolutely love that I get to live for half the year at the Grand Canyon! I have four grown children and five grandchildren. My youngest grandchild was born on my birthday this year!

I enjoy traveling, sewing, quilting, photography, going to thrift stores, fishing, and hiking. I am gluten intolerant, so I eat a strict gluten free diet, which can sometimes be a challenge because we live in remote areas most of the time.

2. How long have you been blogging?
I started blogging in September of 2006.

3. How did you get involved in the blogging world?
My son, who is in the Air Force, was stationed in England. He met the woman who is now his wife while he was over there. I wanted her to get to know our family before she moved to the United States with him, so I started out intending to write to her about us. It has evolved into what it is today–the story of my mobile life, living fulltime in an RV and eating a gluten free diet.

4. What is the focus of your blog?
Am I supposed to be focused on something? I write about whatever is going on in my life at the moment, whether that is something I am making, somewhere we are going, a recipe I have tried, people we met, and so on. Sometimes I rant about things that bother me. Sometimes I show pictures of my grandchildren. It is really not focused, other than being the story of my life.

Right now, for 10 weeks, I am doing an online auction of one item per week to raise money for The Oral Cancer Foundation and to raise awareness of Oral Cancer. My husband is a 10 year survivor of this awful disease. I am so grateful to have him still with me, and I want others to know what to look for and get screened for it.

5. Has your blog changed over time and, if so, how?
Yes. At first, I was writing about our family more. Now, I write more about places my husband and I go, things we do, things I cook, and so on. I switched from blogspot to a hosted website so I could expand–now I have a separate blog for reviews,and giveaways (http://reviews.fabgrandma.com), and separate pages for pictures of where we are at the moment, one for updated pictures of the grandkids, and one for my Etsy shop. I love that the new blog has the drop down menus for categories, too.

6. Where would you like to go with your blog in the future?
I would love to be a travel writer! I am going to travel anyway, would love to get paid along the way. I would also like to write a gluten free cookbook, focusing on southern style cooking. And I would like to do more reviews of gluten free products, and of products that us older folks need and want.

7. Do you have any favourite blogs that you follow?
Hmmm, yes:
Geogypsy–one of my real life friends who is a ranger at the Grand Canyon. She writes about hiking and traveling in Arizona and other places.
The Gluten Free Girl
Sarah’s Cucina Bella the recipes aren’t gluten free but they give me lots of ideas.
Fab Over 50
2 Taking A Fifth–friends who live fulltime in a 5th Wheel RV

There are lots more that I read, but these I are the ones I go to first!

8. Where can my readers find you?
my blog: FabGrandma
my review blog: Fabgrandma Reviews
twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/FabGrandma
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/#!/FabGrandma
MomGadget: http://www.momgadget.com/author/fabgrandma/
My Etsy shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/FabGrandma?ref=pr_profile

Thanks FabGrandma! I am going to check out your Etsy shop and I hope that you reach your fundraising goal to celebrate your husband’s survival from oral cancer!

This entry was posted in Review. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blogstar Spotlight Saturday – Fab Grandma!

  1. Karen says:

    Thank you so much for featuring me!

Leave a Reply

