Vermont Harvest Review

It will be no surprise my readers that I love food! I love eating, talking about food, learning about food and trying new foods! My husband is always teasing me because I particularly enjoy condiments – I love trying new sauces and jams. In fact, I love them so much that sometimes when you open my cupboards and fridge you find more sauces and condiments than anything else!

I was intrigued by the idea of Vermont Harvest. I loved the interesting and colourful history of Vermont Harvest. I love the fact that the company was started by chance (and a husband who couldn’t resist a bargain – a man after my own heart!) and that it has grown so much over the past 20+ years. They produce an amazing variety of products, including numerous jams, conserves, chutneys, oils and sauces. I thought it was incredibly cool that they have such a variety of unique products that I’d never seen before!

I received 2 jams and 2 sauces to try: the jams were the Jalpeno Pepper jelly and Badabing Cherry Marmalade, while the sauces were the Blueberry Bourbon Balsamic Sauce and the Tiger Satay.

I grew up eating sweet pepper jelly (though the jelly I ate never had Jalpeno in it) so I was excited to try the Jalpeno Pepper jelly. I liked the combination of sweetness and spicy flavour – the balance of flavours was really great! I loved it on crackers with cream cheese – just thinking about it makes me hungry!

I was surprised by the Tiger Satay sauce. I had expected it to be thinner consistency and to have a sweeter taste. I found that I had to add a sweet liquid (I used honey once when I used it and the other time I combined the Satay sauce with orange juice) in order to make the sauce more pliable as a meat sauce. I used it once as a sauce with noodles and another time as a sauce on pork loin. I enjoyed the taste because the peanut and spicy kick were definitely apparent but I did prefer it with some sweetness to balance the nutty and spicy flavours.

The Badabing Cherry Marmalade is absolutely stunning and, I must admit, is my favourite! I love the flavour of the marmalade as well as the consistency! I also appreciate the fact that a little goes a long way – I can put a small amount on my toast and savour the flavours!

While I haven’t tried the Blueberry Bourbon Balsamic Sauce, I’m really looking forward to using it in the weeks to come. I love blueberries so I think it will be an amazing sauce!

 

This entry was posted in Giveaway, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

295 Responses to Vermont Harvest Review

  1. Melissa says:

    #2
    Twitter follower @Lisa_Blogs

  2. Melissa says:

    Tweet

  3. Shari Wright says:

    I would like to try their Blueberry Bourbon Conserve & their Pineappl Pepper Jelly

  4. Heather says:

    Tweeted:

    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  5. Shari Wright says:

    Tweeted

  6. Shari Wright says:

    New email subscriber

  7. Shari Wright says:

    Newl Email Subscriber

  8. Shari Wright says:

    FB Fan (Chris Shari Alligood)

  9. Shari Wright says:

    FB FAN Chris Shari Alligood

  10. Shari Wright says:

    Following you on Twitter @ShariAlligood

  11. Shari Wright says:

    Following @ReviewCorner on twitter @ShariAlligood

  12. Veronica Garrett says:

    I would like to try the Blackberry Jam.

  13. Sand says:

    I’d like to try the Blackberry Jam.

  14. Elizabeth Ray says:

    I want to try their smokin’ garlic tomato spread

  15. Gianna says:

    Apple Rum Walnut Conserve

  16. Gianna says:

    I’m an email subscriber.

  17. Gianna says:

    I’m an email subscriber. 2

  18. Gianna says:

    I’m an email subscriber. 3

  19. Sarah L says:

    I want the Pineapple Pepper Jelly. Never heard of it, but my mouth thinks the flavors would be great.
    Thanks for the contest.

  20. Sarah L says:

    FB like you: Slehan

Comments are closed.