Rescue by Anita Shreve Review

I recently had the opportunity to listen to Rescue, by Anita Shreve, on audiobook. I’ve always enjoyed Shreve’s works (though I have only read a few) so I was interested to see what I’d think of this novel.

Summary:
“A rookie paramedic pulls a young woman alive from her totaled car, a first rescue that begins a lifelong tangle of love and wreckage. Sheila Arsenault is a gorgeous enigma–streetwise and tough-talking, with haunted eyes, fierce desires, and a never-look-back determination. Peter Webster, as straight an arrow as they come, falls for her instantly and entirely. Soon Sheila and Peter are embroiled in an intense love affair, married, and parents to a baby daughter. Like the crash that brought them together, it all happened so fast. Eighteen years later, Sheila is long gone and Peter is raising their daughter, Rowan, alone. But Rowan is veering dangerously off track, and for the first time in their ordered existence together, Webster fears for her future. His work shows him daily every danger the world contains, how wrong everything can go in a second. All the love a father can give a daughter is suddenly not enough. Sheila’s sudden return may be a godsend–or it may be exactly the wrong moment for a lifetime of questions and anger and longing to surface anew. What tore a young family apart? Is there even worse damage ahead? The questions lifted up in Anita Shreve’s utterly enthralling new novel are deep and lasting, and this is a novel that could only have been written by a master of the human heart.”

My Thoughts:
I’ve always enjoyed Anita Shreve’s books. I tend to find the characters interesting and engaging and the storylines to be creative and fresh. I appreciate the fact that there is often a lesson to be found in her novels relating to the idea of what happens when deception is involved (The Pilot’s Wife and Testimony both provide classic example of Shreve’s successful use of this theme). Rescue is no exception to the successful inclusion of this theme and the thought-provoking results.

Peter is not honest with his daughter, Rowan, about her absent mother. When Rowan begins to rebel, she starts showing a propensity to alcohol that caused the breakup of her parent’s marriage. How will Peter deal with this issue and Sheila’s sudden return?

Overall, I enjoyed listening to this novel. Overall, I like Shreve’s novels and her style of writing. I find I can always relate easily with her characters – they could be anyone that I know in my daily life. I’d recommend Rescue to anyone who enjoys a quick and easy read.

 

This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

173 Responses to Rescue by Anita Shreve Review

  1. Leah Walker says:

    Follow you on Twitter.

    lewalk76

  2. Leah Walker says:

    Twitter follower 2.

  3. Leah Walker says:

    Like you on FB.

    lewalk76

    Leah W.

  4. Leah Walker says:

    FB fan 2.

  5. Leah Walker says:

    FB fan 3.

  6. Leah Walker says:

    FB fan 4.

  7. Leah Walker says:

    FB fan 5.

  8. Leah Walker says:

    Email subscriber.

    lewalk(at)hotmail(dot)com

  9. Leah Walker says:

    Email 2.

    lewalk(at)hotmail(dot)com

  10. Leah Walker says:

    EMail 3.

    lewalk(at)hotmail(dot)com

  11. Leah Walker says:

    Email 4.

    lewalk(at)hotmail(dot)com

  12. Leah Walker says:

    Email 5.

    lewalk(at)hotmail(dot)com

  13. Leah Walker says:

    RSS subscriber.

    Google Reader

    lewalk

  14. Leah Walker says:

    RSS 2.

  15. Leah Walker says:

    RSS 3.

  16. Leah Walker says:

    RSS 4.

  17. Leah Walker says:

    RSS 5.

    And just in the nick of time. Lol. All done.

  18. James Coyne says:

    I love new books and new authors. I have never experienced Anita’s books and no time like the present

  19. James Coyne says:

    i tweeted

  20. Veronica Garrett says:

    I’d like to win Rescue because it sounds like a great book.

  21. Sand says:

    I would love to win this as I love to listen to audio books while I cook and I’ve heard great things about this one.

  22. lknott says:

    I just think it sounds like the kind of book I would like to read. I share them forward when I’m done!! Thanks for the chance to win!!

  23. Pingback: Some happy people – March 4th winners! « Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

Comments are closed.