Gimme that Remote (What to Watch Wednesdays)

So, this past weekend, I was having an ongoing debate that takes place a LOT in my house!

I was watching UK Gladiators (WHAT? You’ve never seen UK Gladiators? You are really missing something!) and my husband said, “WHY are you watching this show?”

My answer was simple. “Because I like it.”

He then asked how I could like “crap” like UK Gladiators. Again it was an easy answer: “Because I do.”

I admit it….I love bad tv! I’m not saying that UK Gladiators is “quality programming” – in fact, I’d be the first one to tell you that isn’t!

When you add to it some other programs I enjoy- Wipeout and Celebrity Rehab with Dr. Drew to name only two- it does make for an odd pattern of television viewing.

None of it good tv – and yet I love it!

I think part of the reason I enjoy these shows are that they involve things I will never do – I’m never going to be on Gladiators or Wipeout (though, I have to admit, when they announced Wipeout Canada I gave it some serious thought until I realized how embarrassing my performance would be on tv!) and I’m never going into rehab. I find these shows interesting because they involve things I know I won’t ever experience first-hand.

So, yes, I do love bad television – but that isn’t going to change!

And even my husband knows that…he was the one to tell me they were airing episodes of Winter Wipeout because he knew I’d enjoy them (even though he wouldn’t!).

So…while he complains about my choice of television viewing…I have a good husband!

This entry was posted in Media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gimme that Remote (What to Watch Wednesdays)

  1. Miranda says:

    I love Wipeout!!!!

  2. multitestingmommy says:

    My hubby used to watch The Bachelor with me and he was SO happy that I told him I was giving up on it this season!

    I like “Off the Map” on Wednesday nights!

  3. Tammy says:

    LOL – I’ve never heard of UK Gladiators…what station do you guys get that on?

    We’re watching Seasons of Red Green on DVD right now, being born and raised Canadians my husband and I love watching them over and over again, our daughter grew up almost entirely in the US (she was 3 when she moved, and almost 15 now), and she’s getting a kick out of them.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Gimme that Remote (What to Watch Wednesdays) « Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger -- Topsy.com

  5. Kelly says:

    I’m a Survivor fan – that’s what I watch on Wednesdays!

  6. I hate to admit it, but I love to watch America’s Next Top Model.

Leave a Reply

