Shrek: The Whole Story DVD set

Shrek-tacular! I have been watching, and laughing at, the antics of the characters of Shrek for many years and my girls love them as much as I do! Having been hooked since the original film, Shrek, came out a few years ago, we were pretty keen to see the series of films in their entirety so it became a Shrek marathon (Shrek-athon?).

The first film, Shrek, reminded me again why I adore this film! I can’t believe that it originally came out almost 10 years ago! I thought the humour was great because it appeals to every age level (there are things that make the girls laugh and other, more adult jokes, that had me in stitches!). I thought the actors who perform as the voices of Shrek, Donkey and Princess Fiona (Mike Myers, Eddie Murphy and Cameron Diaz) were paired wonderfully with their characters. For those who haven’t seen the film, Shrek (who is adorable in a “so ugly he is cute” way) and his friend (well, friend/frustrating and somewhat unwanted sidekick) Donkey end up on a quest to save a princess (Princess Fiona) and to save Shrek’s home. It is a film that made me smile and laugh from beginning to end.

Shrek 2 provides as many laughs as the original movie and, I must say, I’m still impressed by the fact that the sequel is of the same high calibre as the original movie. Shrek 2 also introduced a number of new characters whose voices are performed by many well-known actors (including Puss in Boots, whose character is portrayed by Antonio Banderas) – to me it added a dimension to the film as well because I love trying to match characters with the actors who portray them!


Shrek The Third
and Shrek Ever After carry on with the antics and a number of different, and humourous elements were added. Shrek 3 saw the addition of the Shrek babies (which the girls absolutely adored!) and I loved the fact that Shrek Ever After took a different twist on the Shrek franchise because I thought the premise was very cool (with the idea of an alternate reality) and allowed this film to move in a completely different direction. Between these two movies, I preferred the last one because it reminded me more of the first two films. I found myself laughing a great deal and feeling sentimental in other parts.

It is the wit and humour that brings me back to the Shrek films every time. I enjoy them because they do possess the humour that appeals to a variety of age levels. I love the animation, the development of the characters and the humourous reflections of familiar things from popular culture. Shrek: The Whole Story is a great addition to any home!

 

This entry was posted in Family fun, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shrek: The Whole Story DVD set

  1. Joyce McGregor says:

    I as well loved the Shrek and did a shreka thon with my Granddaughter ; popcorn juice and shrek; oh did I mention the jammies as well lol

  2. HilLesha says:

    Great post! My son loves Shrek. 🙂

  3. my grandkids love Shrek and I am sure we we enjoy watching the whole DVD set together. Thanks for the review

  4. Elva Roberts says:

    March 23-I love your review of the Shrek DVD’s . I have seen one or two of them with my ggson and I loved it as much as he did. Thank you for such a great review.-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

