Mr. Bo Finds a New Home and a New Name (Review)

I have really fond memories of my roommate’s cat that I lived with when I was in university. This cat was sweet but also had a real atitude! My girls also love cats so I thought they’d enjoy reading Mr. Bo Finds a New Home and a New Name. I was lucky enough to receive two copies so I was able to share a copy with a friend of mine who is a devoted cat lover and plans to share the book with her little boy as well!

Book Description:
‘There it was in big letters for all to see: Recommendation: Adopt.’ He really was a nice, special male cat, and he knew soon he would be leaving this small cage for a large, comfortable house with his real name.’ A cat temporarily named Linus is living in a cat adoption center dreaming of the day someone will take him home. When a man walks in the center, Linus is sure that he has spotted his new owner. He does everything he can to catch the man’s attention: stays in the front of the cage, looks him in the eye, and even reaches his brown paw out to the man. But the man decides to think about his decision and heads out, leaving Linus to wonder when his magical day will come. Come along to see how Mr. Bo Finds a New Home and a New Name.

My girls loved this book! My youngest one was enthralled by the illustrations – she has spent hours flipping through the pages and pointing out the “kitty” on different pages. I tried reading the book with her, but she insisted she was going to read the book herself (as she is only 2 1/2 I knew that wasn’t going to happen!) so we haven’t read it together but she still loves looking at the illustrations of Mr. Bo! I was able to read the book with her sister though – she was really interested in Mr. Bo and worried that he wasn’t going to find a home! At the end of the book, she said she was really glad that Mr. Bo had found a home and she was happy that he liked the new name that he received. I also enjoyed this book because I thought the book encouraged her to be empathic to Mr. Bo’s situation and to care about his welfare. I think we will be reading this book a lot and it was quite cool because you can also download this book as an audiobook for free! Though I haven’t tried it yet, I thought it would be a great way for my girls to “read” the book while listening to it on the computer. Mr. Bo Finds a New Home and a New Name is a very cool book with a great message!
You can check out Mr. Bo in his website, his Facebook fan page and you can also follow him on Twitter.

 

This entry was posted in Books, Family fun, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mr. Bo Finds a New Home and a New Name (Review)

  1. Joyce McGregor says:

    this sounds like a great book would love to get this to share with my lunch program kids they love having books read to them during lunch time

  2. Julia says:

    Sounds like a really cute book. Thanks for the review.

  3. Mr. Bo and I would like to thank you for the great words and the review of the book.

    Thanks again

  4. You are welcome – I thought the book was awesome!

  5. Elva Roberts says:

    March 23-Thank you, once Again, for introduciing us to a wonderful Children’s book. I know most children will love it and read it over and over. . I will have to keep an eye out for it for my ggchildren.-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

