It’s okay to ask for help!

Over the past few weeks, I’ve realized that it is okay to ask for help, but that I also have to be willing to help myself!

Despite the realizations that I have about my weight and the fact that I think it is making me feeling unwell as well as depressed (I’m being honest here – I hate admitting that my weight is causing me to feel this way!), I need to take drastic measures. It is one thing to talk about what I’m going to do to make myself a healthier, and happier, person and another thing to actually do something about it!

So I’ve got a plan. This plan is different, however, in that I have to make myself accountable and stop blaming other people for leading me astray. I am the captain of my own ship (geez…I can coin a phrase as well as Charlie Sheen…okay that was a bad joke!) – I control my own destiny when it comes to taking care of myself.

The key, for me, to being successful is structure. I know that – now it is just making it work!

At work, I need to take my big water bottle and, every time I want to snack because I’m bored, take a big swig of my water. It is a 1.89 L bottle and I think that if I fill it twice a day it can be really beneficial – it gives me something to do and keeps me from thinking “I need to have a snack”. The other key at work is to walk around my workplace – when I have a break and I can go and snack, taking a walk is a much better option because it allows me to burn calories while keeping me from eating!

At home, I also need to moderate my eating. My husband is the type of guy who can eat…and eat…and eat and never gain weight. I’ve already moved all of his snacks to the high cupboards (I can’t reach up there without a chair so it is a bit of the old “out of sight, out of mind” philosophy). I need to remind him that he CAN snack without offering his snacks to me. I think he feels guilty so he always asks if I want anything…and even if I say no he will ask multiple times until I say yes. In the end, that is my problem because I need to stick to my guns – life is full of temptation and I just need to avoid it! (He, by the way, is thrilled about the prospect of being a consumer and reviewer via me of any tasty treats that come to review – he says he willing to “take one for the team”!).

Lastly, working out has been something I have managed to make excuses to avoid continously. I am really lucky that one of my best friends suggested we start working out together. Like me, she finds it hard to motivate herself to get to the gym so we are taking this on together when we can! We are devoting 4 days a week to working out together, which leaves me with only 2 days when I will have to motivate myself. And today, though she couldn’t come with me because she was sick, I actually made it on my own! It is a small victory but one that I’m going to relish.

So I’m starting over and my weight will reflect that. This is Week 1 again and I will check in at least once a week (though you may find I’m doing it more often as a means of motivating myself!).

GOAL WEIGHT – by June 30th – 145 pounds

Starting Weight (March 6th) – 184 pounds

I’m looking forward to sharing my success with you! If there are any companies out there that would like to help me achieve this goal, please let me know!

This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s okay to ask for help!

  1. Gina says:

    Good Luck 🙂

  2. Aprile Mazey says:

    Good luck!!! Following you from Mom Bloggers Club.

  3. va says:

    I suggest trying out beginners yoga and eat food at home , snacks without too much salt or sugar , fruits and veggies , calcium , multi vitamins , and just to be consistent and have a regular schedule set for meals and exercise .
    hope this helps you , thanks and good luck to you !

  4. My goal weight is 145, as well. I am using loseit.com to track my progress, and really like it.

  5. I need a lot of help. Good Luck

  6. edmontonjb says:

    Weight can be such a struggle! Good for you for taking control and making changes.

  7. MissT says:

    Set mini Goals like say 20lbs etc to see such a large # to lose is discouraging. I have about the same amount of weight to lose as you.

  8. My husband and I are taking things in hands… We want to loose weight as well. We will be using the app Loose it! as well as exercising. Did some exercise this morning with the treadmill. 10 minutes to start of brisk walk. Planning to bring it up to 30 minutes… while listening to a podcast it helps…

  9. Susan says:

    Wow — you are extremely motivated when you are making your current weight so public. (I don’t have the guts to do that.)
    I wish you much success. I think it is important to try to eat healthily, rather than thinking in terms of diet and off-limit foods. It is so easy to feel restricted and begin to foster self-loathing.
    Each of us comes in our own unique package. Good for you that you want to be healthy. All the best to you!

  10. Pingback: The Good, The Bad and The Hungry! « Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

  11. Julia says:

    You can do it! Good luck. Me and another blogger are cheering eachother on over on Twitter with the hashtag #byebyebuldge It’s keeping us accountable to someone and I have found it’s really helped so far. You should join in. I’ll cheer you on!

Leave a Reply

