Green & Black’s Chocolate Review and Giveaway (Canada)

I love supporting products that make a difference and, for that reason, I love the idea behind Green & Black’s Organic Chocolate. I recently learned that this year, when consumers choose any of Green & Black’s Organic premium, organic chocolate Easter Eggs they will be helping to improve the lives of farmers and their families living a world away. Just in time for this Easter, the entire collection of Green & Blacks Organic Easter Eggs has been Fair Trade Certified. “We are passionate about making the best tasting organic chocolate possible, contributing to positive change and improving the lives of others,” says Emma Crabtree, International Development Manager for Green & Black’s.

Fair Trade has one of the leading product certification and labeling systems in the world. Green & Blacks Organic is recognized as the first company to ever launch a Fair Trade chocolate product, with its Maya Gold Chocolate Bar. Fair Trade principles are simple: farmers are paid a fair and guaranteed price for their crop, plus an additional social premium that is invested back into their communities. The farmers choose where the premium is invested and the entire process is managed and audited by Fairtrade Labelling Organizations (FLO) International and its member organizations, including TransFair Canada. All Green & Black’s Organic chocolate bars and Easter Egg Collection bear the Fair Trade mark, letting consumers know that the sourcing of the product meets rigorous standards.

How cool is that??

Green & Black’s has launched their own Eggcellent Easter Collection. They are offer a range of Easter products that are made with ethically sourced ingredients. Their Easter line includes:

* Green & Black’s Dark Chocolate Egg (110g egg) with an intense flavor of 70% dark organic chocolate or a Milk Chocolate Egg, which is a 110g shell of cocoa rich milk chocolate containing 37% cocoa solids.
*Green & Black’s Organic Mini Eggs (which are perfect both for hiding or personal enjoyment) include 3 different varieties – Milk Chocolate Mini Eggs which are made of 34% cocoa rich solids of milk chocolate and have a smooth milk chocolate soft centre; Dark Chocolate Mini Eggs have a bittersweet 70% dark chocolate shell and a smooth hazelnut and milk chocolate centre and Butterscotch Mini Eggs created from milk chocolate blended with crisp, crunchy toffee.

Chocolate is a hit with my family at any time of year (translation: I live with a bunch of chocoholics!) but they are also a particular bunch! While they are happy to have me share just about any type of chocolate, they also have high standards and are quick to tell me if they don’t like it!

We tried two different types of Green and Black’s Easter products – the Milk Chocolate Egg and the Milk Chocolate Mini Eggs. I found that I enjoyed the flavour of both types of chocolate, though I enjoyed the Mini Eggs the most (I really like the soft and silky milk chocolate centre). The texture and richness of this chocolate was enjoyed by all! I’d really like to try the Butterscotch Mini Eggs and I think I’m going to have to buy some for myself (if everyone else is lucky, I might just share them!).

Green & Black’s Organic Easter Eggs are available at select Shopper’s Drug Mart locations, Whole Foods, London Drugs and natural health food stores across Canada. The suggested retail price for Green & Black’s 110g Eggs are $8.99 – $9.99, while the suggested retail price for Green & Black’s Mini Eggs is $6.49 – $7.49.

 

This entry was posted in Giveaway, Organic Products, Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

851 Responses to Green & Black’s Chocolate Review and Giveaway (Canada)

  1. Debbie W says:

    daily entry April 29
    I will share with my hubby

  2. Debbie W says:

    daily tweet

  3. Laurie W says:

    They use fine organic ingredients that are ethically sourced.

  4. K Peters says:

    I’d share my basket with all my family and friends who love good chocoate. And the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge if they wanted. Good chocolate is hard to find, all over the world.
    29 April.

  5. Katrina Brady says:

  6. Amy C says:

    daily tweet

  7. Amy C says:

    If I win I would share my Green & Black’s Organic chocolate Easter prize pack with my kids.

    April 29, 2011

  8. angela m says:

    daily tweet

    flower_child_23(at)hotmail(dot)com

  9. Dayle B says:

    I would share this awesome prize pack with my family.
    April 29.

  10. Fiona says:

    I went to the Green & Black’s website and learned that it was founded by the same guy who founded the Whole Earth organic food company – Craig Sam, and his wife Josephine.
    fmgregory at myway dot com

  11. Fiona says:

    I would share the goodies with my housemates and my colleagues at the lab. A yummy time would be had by all.
    fmgregory at myway dot com

  12. Fiona says:

    I like Green & Black’s on facebook.

  13. Dayle B says:

    vinci777 DAYLE
    Green & Black’s Chocolate Review and Giveaway (Canada) & Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger http://su.pr/2k051khhh
    now Favorite Reply
    twitted April 29 daily

  14. Fiona says:

    I subscribe to your RSS feeds in Google Reader. Not sure what you mean about the email address..

  15. Fiona says:

    I entered the Kidsumers giveaway as well.

  16. Glogirl says:

    I would share my chocolate with my mom.
    (entered April 15).

  17. Soozle says:

    I would share the chocolate with my best friend! 4/29
    (mandatory entry april 17)

  18. Carrie M says:

  19. Dianne says:

    Daily Tweet http://twitter.com/wowcheckitout/status/64133033162326016
    blogandtweet(at)gmail(dot)com

  20. Dianne says:

    April 29 – I could share this chocolate with my DH if I won.
    blogandtweet(at)gmail(dot)com

  21. handonia says:

    i didn’t know that they were made of organic ingredients

  22. Pingback: Holiday Gift Guide – Green and Black’s Organic Chocolate | Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

Comments are closed.