Royal Wedding Countown – Regal Tea Sandwiches

The Royal Wedding is only 2 short days away and I can’t wait! (Did I tell you that I actually watched The Queen AND The King’s Speech in the past week just to get myself geared up for this wedding? Well, that and Coronation Street….)

Countdown to the Royal Wedding

I’m planning on a light lunch on Friday and I want to make myself some Regal Tea Sandwiches just to celebrate the wedding. I was excited to find this recipe on Red Prince Apples. I’ve never had Cambozola cheese, so I can’t wait to try it!

According to their website, “Tea sandwiches fit the menu when you’re looking for light fare that’s easy to eat. Red Prince apple slices, watercress, cambozola cheese and a sweet dressing are delicately assembled to create a fresh-tasting Regal Tea Sandwich ideal for sharing with guests at cocktail parties and bridal showers.”

Royal Wedding

Regal Tea Sandwiches

Ingredients:
2 Red Prince apples, cored and thinly sliced
1 tbsp lemon juice
3 tbsp Dijon mustard
3 tbsp honey
16 slices whole grain bread
5 oz Cambozola cheese, room temperature
2 cups watercress, tender stems and leaves

Directions:
In a medium bowl, toss Red Prince apple slices with lemon and set aside.

In a small bowl, mix Dijon mustard and honey. Cut crusts off 2 slices of bread. Thinly spread Dijon on one slice. Spread Cambozola on second slice and top with 4 to 6 Red Prince apple slices and 1/4 cup watercress. Top with first slice and cut sandwich in half to make 2 triangles.
Repeat steps with remaining ingredients to make 8 sandwiches.

Makes 8 servings / 8 sandwiches.

PER SERVING (1 sandwich): 293 calories, 10 g fat, 5 g saturated fat, 20 mg cholesterol, 531 mg sodium, 48 g carbohydrates, 7 g fibre, 11 g protein. % RDI: 33% calcium, 39% iron, 2% vitamin A, 12% vitamin C.

You can also follow Royal Apples on Twitter and Facebook.

Source: www.redprinceapples.ca

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Royal Wedding Countown – Regal Tea Sandwiches

  1. Fiona says:

    Do you find it hard to find watercress? I never see it for sale. It seems to be a more English thing.

  2. Kathleen Blom says:

    I wouldn’t think to put apples in a sandwich but this sounds really good.

  3. Anne Taylor says:

    Omgosh I love Tea Sanwiches! I remember going to the church bazaar when I was a young girl and they would always serve tea sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

