Yogi Bear Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy Review

Over the past few years, I’ve been really interested with the development of movies based on characters from my childhood! One of my favourite cartoon duos of my childhood were Yogi Bear and his sidekick Boo-Boo. They always made me laugh – Yogi’s antics and his never-ending quest for the elusive picnic basket still makes me grin (I know I’ve said it before, but I’m just a big kid at heart!).

Warner Bros.

I thought watching Yogi Bear on DVD with my girls would be the perfect way to spend Easter Sunday. After painting eggs, we sat together and laughed ourselves silly at the this film! In the movie, Ranger Smith spends his time trying to keep Jellystone Park safe for all park patrons – which basically means trying to keep Yogi Bear from stealing their picnic baskets! Ranger Smith learns there are larger problems on the horizon as the mayor has decided to sell the park (to help finance his bid for Senator and offset the fact that the town has gone broke under his leadership and excessive spending habits). Smith thinks he can raise enough money to save the park but, thanks to some colourful antics from Yogi and Boo-Boo, everything falls apart! Once the mayor’s true plan (to sell the park and let the loggers cut down the trees) comes to light, Smith finds himself partnering up with Yogi, BooBoo and a lovely documentary filmmaker named (played by Anna Faris) to try and save Jellystone Park. Will they be able to do it?

I thought Dan Ackroyd did a wonderful job as the voice of Yogi Bear and Justin Timberlake made an excellent Boo-Boo (I actually didn’t recognize his voice at first until my sister-in-law asked if he did the voicework and I discovered she was right!). I must admit that I loved Tom Cavanagh (who played Ranger Smith) – I’ve been a huge fan of Cavanagh since his starring role in the television show Ed and he played the straight-laced park ranger really well! The movie is cute and campy and full of silly scenes that kept us all in stitches!

While I haven’t see the Blu-ray extras yet, I think they will be fun to watch as they include a “Yogi Bear Mash-Up” (which I think will be funny!) and a “Are You Smarter Than The Average Bear?” Game as well as some other special additions! I also thought it was cool that this set includes a digital copy that will allow me to download the movie to my computer or my portable media player for free so that I can watch it whenever the mood strikes!

Overall, I would say that Yogi Bear is a great film for anyone who likes to laugh and enjoys slapstick comedy!

Yogi Bear is a product of Warner Bros. Pictures and be purchased at many major retailers, including Chapters/Indigo and Amazon.

 

This entry was posted in dvd, Family fun, Media and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yogi Bear Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy Review

  1. Ever since I heard about this movie I wanted to see it! I didn’t know Justin was Boo boo. I loved this cartoon as a kid and I bet my kids will love the CGI version. Great review!

  2. Miranda W says:

    Great now I can introduce my grandkids to some classic characters

  3. Archana says:

    what is the digital copy number for yogi bear

  4. Anne Taylor says:

    I love Yogi Bear and have for what seems, forever! We haven’t seen this movie yet, but next time the grandkids are over maybe we will, it sounds pretty good! Thanks

  5. Elva Roberts says:

    March 21-I can’t believe I missed this review before but it is still well worth reading. Thank you for taking the time to give it such a comprehensive and interesting review.-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

