Summer Fresh – food for all seasons! Review and Giveaway (Canada)

I’m a woman who has never turned my back on a good dip! It is one of my favourite aspects of summer eating and, I have to admit, also why I love potlucks – I always know there will be different types of dips for me to try! The key, for me, is quality rather than quantity. I enjoy trying new tastes and adding them to flavours I always enjoy to add a twist to everyday meals!

I was first introduced to hummus more than 20 years ago. I had a number of friends who were vegetarians (I always think they were ahead of their time!) and they enjoyed hosting dinner parties or we’d all go out to one of the local pubs. It was with these friends that I first tried hummus. Eating hummus with pitas, black olives and thinly sliced red onions, in my mind, is absolutely heavenly!

Because I am a bit of a dip and hummus connoisseur, I was eager to see how Summer Fresh products would stack up! Started in 1991, Summer Fresh is a Canadian company that makes a variety of products including an extensive array of dips and varieties of hummus.

The first item that I tried was the Vegetable Hummus. I am always trying to find ways to get more vegetables into my diet and the idea of combining hummus with vegetables really appealed to me! My husband, on the other hand, wasn’t keen to try the Vegetable Hummus – he considers himself a “purist” so he didn’t like the idea of vegetables in his hummus. That being said, he was willing to expand his horizons and we tried the Vegetable Hummus with roast turkey with salad on rolls. I really liked it – the Vegetable Hummus added a rich and earthy flavour to our sandwiches! Even my husband grudgingly admitted that the Vegetable Hummus wasn’t “too bad” (which, for him, is a compliment!).

We then tried Original Hummus which made my husband really happy! I loved the fresh flavour and the perfect compliment of chick peas, tahini, lemon juice, herbs and spices. My husband was concerned that the hummus might have too much garlic flavour so he was really pleased to find that Summer Fresh’s Original Hummus struck a balance without being too heavy in one flavour element. With pitas and red onion I felt like I was 20 years old again and trying hummus for the first time!

Finally, I also tried Spinach Dip. This dip was just for me and I was thrilled to have it all to myself! I love the rich flavour of the dressing and the combination with the spinach. I must admit that I loved it so much I ate a lot of it in one sitting (and I like it so much I would happily eat it on its own!). Since it is a dip, however, I balanced it out with fresh vegetables and enjoyed the combination of tastes.

These are only a small sampling of the variety of products available from Summer Fresh! You can also get numerous other types of hummus, dips, salads, and even Meals-To-Go. Meals-To-Go are available in three different choices varieties, including:

  • Roasted Garlic Hummus,Taboulah,Flatbreads,Trail Mix;
  • Red Pepper Hummus,Couscous,Flatbreads,Trail Mix; and
  • Hummus,7 Grain Salad,Flatbreads,Trail Mix.

 

This entry was posted in Food, Giveaway, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

508 Responses to Summer Fresh – food for all seasons! Review and Giveaway (Canada)

  1. I have your button on my blog entry 3

    http://selmada.blogspot.com

  2. Elva Roberts says:

    May 20–I visited Summer Fresh today and learned that “Susan Niczowski, owner and president of Summer Fresh Salads, built Summer fresh from the ground up over the past 16 years.”–el3ro

  3. I have your button on my blog entry 4

    http://selmada.blogspot.com

  4. I have your button on my blog entry 5

    http://selmada.blogspot.com

  5. Athena says:

  6. Athena says:

  7. Amy C says:

    daily tweet

  8. Amy C says:

    I learned that Summer Fresh is Located in Vaughn, Ontario, Canada.

    May 20, 2011

Comments are closed.