Give Me Back My Dad! Review

I’ve been enjoying books by Robert Munsch for as long as I can remember – I know my love of his books began when I first read The Paper Bag Princess and I’ve been a fan ever since! I can now share books by Robert Munsch with my girls and I am excited to have the opportunity to read Give Me Back My Dad! with them!

In the Fall of 2010, Scholastic Canada launched an online promotion that allowed readers to help them choose their favourite story by Robert Munsch that would become the 30th book Munsch book to be published by Scholastic. After 170,000 votes had been cast (which, to me, is absolutely astounding!), the winner was chosen.

Robert Munsch’s 30th Scholastic Canada book – chosen by readers!

Set in Rigolet, Labrador, Give Me Back My Dad! is based on a girl named Cheryl and her father who Munsch had met more than 20 years before. In the book, Cheryl and her father go ice fishing, but they encounter so pretty smart fish! It becomes a battle of wills where Cheryl and her father try to catch the fish and the fish come up with their own bait to try and catch Cheryl and her dad!

This book is fun and whimsical. I love the clever concept (what would a fish have to use as bait to try and catch me? Probably chocolate!) and the fact that it appealed to the girls and to me at the same time! I also thought the illustrations were amazing – the facial expressions on the fish were wonderful and I enjoyed all of the small background details as it added a lot to the book as a whole!

You can follow the development of this book on the Pick A Munsch blog where you can read about how Robert Munsch developed this story and how Michael Martchenko designed the artwork for the book. I love reading this blog because I was interested in reading about the real-life people on which Munsch based the characters in his book. I had never realized, until a friend told me recently, that all of Munsch’s characters are based on people that he knows or people that he has met in his travels. It is fun to see the real people behind the characters in Give Me Back My Dad!!

Give Me Back My Dad! goes on sale this month and, to celebrate, Robert Munsch is also returning to Labrador from May 25 – 28th to celebrate the release of the book!

 

This entry was posted in Books, Family fun, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Give Me Back My Dad! Review

  1. Sky says:

    How I love Robert Munsch books! I’m going to add this to my must have list for our bookshelf.

  2. Julie says:

    I hadn’t heard about this new book yet! It looks cute…can’t wait to read it. 🙂

  3. Cat Davis says:

    I’ve never read any of his books but this one sounds pretty cute, something my daughter would definitely love. She’s always excited about fish stories.

  4. Elva Roberts says:

    March 20-I had never heard of these books by Robert Munsch but your review made me want to go out looking for them at the bookstore for my ggchildren. Thanks for introducint me to this author. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

