Meow Said the Cow

Synopsis
A hilarious send-up of animal sounds!
It’s a noisy morning in the barnyard: roosters crowing, cows mooing, mice squeaking! And the farmer’s cat has had enough. With a flick of his tail, the cat casts a spell and the barnyard is turned upside-down. The chickens are oinking, the sheep are barking, and the sheepdog can only let out a confused “Baa?” It’s not long before the animals figure out who’s to blame…
Emma Dodd’s bright, bold illustrations bring this farm full of very confused animals to life, and her hilarious rhyming text is sure to send young readers giggling (and mooing, and cock-a-doodle-dooing!).

My Thoughts
When I first saw Meow Said the Cow, I loved the size of this book because the pictures are large and makes it really easy to snuggle up with my littlest girl so we can sit and read together and talk about what she sees during the story. I was amazed by the fact that Dodd had both written and illustrated this book because the story if funny (and I love the rhymes!) and the illustrations are spectacular! I love the facial expressions of the animals and all of the details that add another dimension to the story. I think the story itself is light-hearted and fun and my little one was engaged by it the entire time! Because of her love of animals and her fascinations with the sounds that animals make, this book was particularly appealing to her! I think Meow Said the Cow would make an excellent gift and would be an excellent book for pre-school children, especially those (like my little girl) who love animals.

 

This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meow Said the Cow

  1. Beth says:

    This book looks great! My kids would love it!

Leave a Reply

