Making Healthy Choices – Going Back to Basics

Welcome to the first day of Spring into Shape!

I am someone who could probably be called a “professional dieter”. I have struggled with my weight my whole life and I’ve tried a variety of diets and weight-loss programs. I also read a lot about various programs and, to be honest, sometimes the information I read is so conflicting it is difficult to figure out the best path to choose!

As I am looking to make a true lifestyle change, rather than simply diet to lose weight and then head back to the same bad habits that will impact my health and lead to weight gain, I decided that I should ignore all the information I’ve gained over the years and simply go back to basics.

So where did that lead me?

The first place I decided to go was to go and revisit Canada’s Food Guide. I learned that I could download a copy, read it online or even receive a copy free of charge from the government.

I learned that the food guide has changed over the years since I last read it! I am eating a lot more meat that the Canada Food Guide recommends and I need to eat more fruits and vegetables (which I actually knew). I actually found that the website also has an Serving Guide Tracker that I can print off to see how well I am following the Food Guide or I can use an Interactive Tool to check my progress.

I also found that the Food Guide website provides a section on Nutrition Labeling that explains how to read food labels and understand what you are reading! It is written in easy to understand terms so I think it is an excellent tool for anyone who wants to learn more about Canadian labeling.

I also decided to check out the Dietitians of Canada website because it has a section called “Your Health”. The section that interested me the most was the Assess Yourself area because it includes a BMI checker (though I couldn’t figure out how to open it to be honest!) and the Eat Tracker which works an online tracking journal for food intake. While I don’t want to count calories, I’m going to test out the Eat Tracker as I want to journal my food intake to see how I am doing each day so I think this website could prove really helpful! These are only a few of the tools you can find on this website.

I found my journey to go back to nutritional basics really helpful!

Are there any other websites that you’ve found helpful in your journey to a healthier life? I’d love it if you shared them!

There are some fellow bloggers who are also working to Spring into Shape – check out their blogs and see how they are doing!
Kidsumers
Jenn’s RAQ
Elegantly Said
Two Children and a Migraine
The Knit Wit by Shair
Tales of a Ranting Ginger
Live, Learn and Live Again
Happily Blended
Grandma’s Guide to Life

This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making Healthy Choices – Going Back to Basics

  1. Carli says:

    Wow! Such great resources. You’re right to get back to basics. It’s easier than following a ton of “special” diets.

  2. Yep – I just lost 31lbs since November (had a baby so about 10lbs of those don’t really count). I did it by sweating for a minimum of 20 minutes a day and focussing on eating my 7-8 servings of fruits n veggies each day. After eating what I should be eating, there wasnt much room in my belly left for junk. Good luck!

  3. I wanted to comment on your new blog post about Healthy Choice Steamers but I didn’t want to mess up the giveaway count. When I used to eat meat, I loved those items! It’s a shame that I haven’t found any non-meat Healthy Choice Steamers available… I think they should consider making alternatives for those who choose not to eat meat… They’d have me back as a customer for sure !

    Oh and as for this post, I think its awesome what you are doing. I’ve done weight watchers in the past and it does a really great job, but I never stuck with it.. If you ever need any help with anything you should let me know because like I said I did WW and also used to work at a gym. My problem is not information, its applying it lol..

    Cant wait to read more of your progress hun!

Leave a Reply

