This Box Rocks Cancer- Care Packages for Cancer Patients

Around Christmas last year, I had the chance to share a Student Care Package with my oldest girl from This Box Rocks. This care package continues to be a source of pleasure for my girl as she still uses the socks, the box itself (which surprised me, but she said it is so durable it has been a great all-purpose box for various items) as well as some of the other items.

In the monthes that have followed, I have been watching with pleasure as This Box Rocks continues to grow! Val, the company’s owner, is an amazing woman who bends over backwards to please her customers and to design product lines that are perfect for various ages, events and life experiences.

Recently, I noticed that Val has started producing a line of Cancer and Radiation Therapy boxes. As I know I have mentioned before, cancer has (sadly) touched many members of my family so when I saw these packages I was really interested in learning more about them.

Val and I had a chance to chat about these care packages. She kindly offered to share a package with my uncle, who is currently undergoing radiation therapy. In the end, given the circumstances, I decided that I would much rather share with you information that I learned from Val herself and her website about these boxes.

For Val, the inspiration for this line of Cancer and Radiation Therapy boxes came from her memories of her father’s own battle with cancer. As Val herself tells it, “I remembered Dad receiving gift baskets, books and flowers to from friends and family when he underwent treatment. Of course he could never use any of the items and we would have to give the flowers away if there was a strong smell. He had very strong side effects. I definately had an appreciation of how hard it was to buy a gift for someone getting cancer treatment.”

A few monthes ago, Val was talking to people at various trade shows and she discovered that a special box designed for friends and loved ones undergoing cancer treatments was something that people wanted to see because, sadly, everyone seems to know someone who is battling a form of this disease.

These boxes came into existance when her mother in law’s best friend developed cancer. This woman, who is special to Val, motivated her “I rolled up my sleeves, started doing some research, calling people and sourcing new products. By her second round of chemo, I had a package ready for her and sure enough some of those awful symptoms emerged – really, really dry skin on her hands and the metal mouth were the first to to arrive. I don’t know if she will get all the symptoms (I know everyone responds differently) but I’m happy she is finding a use for some of the products and she says they are helping. She is between treatments now and feeling a bit better and trying some of the other products (emergen-c, granola, etc). I had the design ready and figured, I may as well put in on the website in case any of my other clients could use them for people in their lives.”

Val has also designed the boxes in three different sizes and price ranges to make them accesible to people. These boxes include a variety of different products geared specifically to people dealing with cancer treatment, such as moisturizing gloves and booties, unscented deodourant, ginger chews, alcohol-free mouthwash. Some boxes include other special treats, such as Rooibos tea and movie tickets. Each box can also be shipped with a personalized letter for the recipient and is packaged in a sturdy banker’s box.

I think that these boxes, which have been designed with such obvious care, could really help lift the spirits of someone who is dealing with cancer.

You can check out these boxes, as well a number of other specialty boxes, at This Box Rocks or follow This Box Rocks on Facebook and Twitter.

*I received no compensation of any kind for this post. I simply wanted to share this new line of products at This Box Rocks with my readers because I hope it will help someone who is looking for a way to lend to support to anyone going through cancer treatments. The opinions expressed are my own and have not been influenced in any way.*

This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This Box Rocks Cancer- Care Packages for Cancer Patients

  1. Gingermommy says:

    Such a great idea :)

  2. Wow, this is an absolutely wonderful thing she is doing. I am sure it will bring a bit of joy to many!!

  3. Pingback: The Great Canadian Blog Bash (with a Canadian giveaway!) | Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

  4. Antonio says:

    Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?

    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Cheers

  5. Anne Taylor says:

    This is such a thoughtful box! I know that when my mom was suffering from cancer, we could have used this! Thanks

  6. loucheryl says:

    I just love this idea!

Leave a Reply

