Helping Children Understand Money and Debt – Review and Giveaway (Canada)

It is funny what you remember about your childhood in relation to money. My grandparents lived through the Depression and they would always talk about the importance of saving money. It was a lesson that my parents always taught to us as well – they firmly believed (and still believe) that you shouldn’t live above your means and you should work hard to save money and pay for things in cash.

That being said, the world became a lot more financially complicated as I got older. When I went to university and got a student loan, I had no idea about how interest on my student loan worked. I was greeted at university with offers of credit cards with no solid understanding of the cycle that could come from borrowing with a credit card.

I think it is really important to teach children from a young age about money and credit so I was pleased to when I received the booklet “Do You See A Money Tree?” that has been published by the Toronto Star and written by Ellen Roseman.
The book is geared to children from ages 7 to 14 and it incldues lessons and activities to ehlp children learn how to develop a budget, understand the difference between needs and wants and shows them both how to earn money and how to make it last.
While it is suggested for children as young as 7, I found the level of the lessons and activities to be a little to high for my seven-year-old girl. After reading through “Do You See A Money Tree?”, however, I am really impressed with the quality of the materials covered and I plan on using it with her next year. I think the lessons being taught are really important and this book addresses it to an age group in a manner that I appreciate and have never seen before.

If you are interested in getting your own copy of “Do You See A Money Tree?”, you can order copies of this workbook from the Toronto Star’s online store or you can win a copy here!

Giveaway: One reader from Canada (excluding Quebec) will win a copy of “Do You See A Money Tree?”

Remember, you must complete the mandatory entry in order for your extra entries to count (entries without the mandatory first entry will be discarded)!

Mandatory entry:
To enter the giveaway, tell me about an experience with money that you remember from your childhood (1 entry).

Daily Entries:

  • tweet the following (please include the link to your tweet): Teach your kids about money in a fun and educational way- #win a copy of “Do You See A Money Tree?” http://su.pr/7xb1W3 CANADA ends 09/02

Additional Entries:

  • follow me on StumbleUpon -include your user name (1 entry)
  • subscribe to My Little Review Corner’s RSS feeds (or tell me you already receive them)– include the email address you used (3 entries – enter each one separately)
  • subscribe to My Little Review Corner via email (or tell me you already receive them) – include the email address you used (3 entries – enter each one separately)
  • Follow My Little Review Corner on Twitter @ReviewCorner – (2 entries – enter each one separately)
  • ”like” my Facebook fan page – include your Facebook name (3 entries – enter each one separately)
  • put my button from my sidebar on your blog –include your website address (5 entries – enter each one separately)
  • blog about the giveaway – leave a link to your post (5 entries – enter each one separately)

*Contest closes at 10:00 pm EST on Friday, September 2nd, 2011 . Open to residents of Canada (excluding Quebec), 18+ years of age.*

This entry was posted in Giveaway, Review, Savings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

143 Responses to Helping Children Understand Money and Debt – Review and Giveaway (Canada)

  1. Esluka says:

    FB follower @ErinnArenaSluka erinnsluka@gmail.com 3

  2. Debbie Kennedy says:

    I remember collecting pop bottles to bring in for change and then once I had some money saved up, my mom brought me to the bank so I could open my own bank account.

  3. Debbie Kennedy says:

    I subscribe via email #1
    cleaningrhouse at yahoo dot com

  4. Debbie Kennedy says:

    I subscribe via email #2
    cleaningrhouse at yahoo dot com

  5. Debbie Kennedy says:

    I subscribe via email #3
    cleaningrhouse at yahoo dot com

  6. Athena says:

  7. daily tweet-

  8. daily tweet-

  9. I remember helping my single mom make a budget

  10. Subscribe via email entry 1

  11. Subscribe via email entry 2

  12. Subscribe via email entry 3

  13. Facebook fan Paula Mitchell-Bentley entry 1

  14. Facebook fan Paula Mitchell-Bentley entry 2

  15. Facebook fan Paula Mitchell-Bentley entry 3

  16. daily tweet-

  17. Pingback: Recent winners! | Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

Comments are closed.