VH Brings Chinese New Year to your home


Chinese food is one of my ultimate comfort foods – when I was a kid it was an amazing treat when we’d have Chinese food for dinner and I’ve loved it ever since!

As an adult, I still really enjoy Chinese meals and I appreciate them even more now that I can make them myself. The best part is that VH Sauces help make it easy, even for the novice cook like me!

I’ve also developed a real taste for fusion foods, so when I saw the recipe for Hoisin Chicken Pizza, I knew that I was going to have to make it to celebrate Chinese New Year!

When I saw the recipe on the VH website, I knew it was the perfect recipe to try because it looked both really easy and really tasty! As always, however, I decided to change it up a little bit to put my own twist on dish! Broccoli is something we don’t enjoy (so much so that I even find the word hard to spell!) so I decided to substitute spinach for broccoli. I also decided to top our pizza with a cheddar/mozzarella mix to change up the flavours.

Here’s what I used (yes, that’s all that I needed!)

The result? Absolutely amazing! The depth of flavour that Garlic Hoisin sauce elevates this dish so much that it is almost beyond description! I love garlic and it works so well with hoisin (which I adore!). The sweet and crispy flavour of the red pepper merries with the sauce while the chicken provides a perfect compliment to everything. I was worried that substituting the spinach might cause a problem, but it has a crispy texture as well so it really added to the dish. The only thing I learned was that next time I won’t use a whole-wheat crust (or I won’t get distracted and will take it out a minute sooner!).

Because I love having dip with my pizza, I had some VH Plum Sauce and the sweetness of the sauce really worked well against the flavours and textures of the pizza. I will definitely be making this dish again!

The VH website has so many great ideas for Chinese New Year – because it runs for 15 days, I plan on making Hoisin Chicken Salad and Orange Ginger Meatballs as well! Check out the VH website and their Facebook page for a number of awesome meal ideas!

Want to celebrate the Chinese New Year in style with VH?

Giveaway: One reader from Canada (excluding Quebec) will win a VH prize pack that includes an assortment of VH sauces and a $25 VISA gift card!

Remember, you must complete the mandatory entry in order for your extra entries to count (entries without the mandatory first entry will be discarded)!

Mandatory entry:
To enter the giveaway, visit the VH Sauces page and tell me which one is your favourite or you’d most like to try (1 entry).

Daily Entries:

  • Follow me Twitter AND tweet the following (please include the link to your tweet): Chinese New Year rocks in Canada! #Win a VH prize pack incl. a $25 VISA gift card! @ReviewCorner http://wp.me/p10r9i-1JV ends 02/10 #VHSauces
  • Check out the VH Sauce recipes and tell me which one you’d most like to try! (1 entry)

Additional Entries:

  • like VH’s Facebook fan page – include your Facebook name (1 entry)
  • subscribe to My Little Review Corner’s RSS feeds (or tell me you already receive them)– include the email address you used (2 entries – enter each one separately)
  • subscribe to My Little Review Corner via email (or tell me you already receive them) – include the email address you used (2 entries – enter each one separately)
  • ”like” my Facebook fan page – include your Facebook name (1 entry)
  • NEW share this giveaway (use Reshare button on my Facebook fan page
  • NEW follow me on Pinterest (1 entry)
  • follow me on StumbleUpon -include your user name (1 entry)
  • NEW stumble any of my non-giveaway posts – include your username and URL of which post you have stumbled (1 entry per stumble – unlimited entries)
  • NEW follow me on Google+ (1 entry)
  • NEW Comment on any of my non-giveaway posts – let me know which post you have commented on (1 entry per post – unlimited entries)

*Contest closes at 11:59 PM pm EST on Friday, February 10th, 2012 . Open to residents of Canada (excluding Quebec), 18+ years of age.*

This entry was posted in Food, Giveaway, Recipes, Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1,057 Responses to VH Brings Chinese New Year to your home

  1. Ira says:

  2. MissT says:

  3. MissT says:

    Most like to try the Chicken Fajitas recipe
    Feb/10

  4. Lisa KH says:

    dialy tweet

  5. Lisa KH says:

    daily entry:
    I’d love to try the Asian Tuna Cakes recipe.

  6. Pingback: Orange-Hoisin Grilled Chicken from #MoodieFoodie (Recipe) | Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

Comments are closed.