Fat is the New 30 Giveaway (Canada/US)

My favourite types of books are those that make me laugh because I can relate to what is being written – there is nothing better than reading something and bursting out in a spontaneous chortle or side-splitting giggles because it always helps to improve my mood (even though it does something result in rather odd looks from the people around me!).

When I first heard about Jill Conner Browne, I discovered that she is a Sweet Potato Queen (if you are asking, “What the heck is a Sweet Potato Queen, check out their website – it will make you smile!). I also discovered that Jill has penned eight other books with titles that scream BUY ME (with titles like American Thighs: The Sweet Potato Queen’s Guide to Preserving your Assets and The Sweet Potato Queens’ 1st Big-Ass Novel: Stuff we didn’t actually do, but could have and may yet how could I NOT want to buy these books?!?). At that point, I was so excited about Fat is the New 30 that I couldn’t wait to dive in!

Fat is the New 30: The Sweet Potato Queens’ Guide to Coping with (the crappy parts) of Life is a set of engaging and entertaining essays that focus on various aspects of life that are practical but also had me in fits of laughter! From getting older to raising kids to what happens when your body starts to fall apart, the book is filled with uproariously funny (and totally sound) advice like, “Nobody can argue with nonsense” and “Good grief, go put on some lipstick.” Whose life wouldn’t be better with a little nonsense and a tube of lipstick? Some of the essays will also touch your heart – Jill’s reflections on caring for her dying mother really hit home for me – I struggle with the realization that my parents are aging as I watch my friends deal with the care (and deaths) of their parents as well.

And what is a good book without some recipes? In the chapter “God Wants Us to Eat Up,” Jill includes recipes for every possible down-and-out moment that will have you drooling (or perhaps, rolling out of the kitchen after you try one). Best of all, after eating something like the “I-Can‘t-See-My-Feet-But-Who-Cares Krispy Kreme Bread Puddin’,” you’ll hardly remember the crappy moment that inspired you to step foot in the kitchen in the first place. Call it therapy through food or call it your Sweet Potato Queen remedy. Either way, Jill Conner Browne has the medicinal humor you need! (While I’m still working on losing weight, I’ve marked these recipes for when I really need them!)

I really enjoyed reading Fat is the New 30 and I’ve passed it on to a friend who I think will love it as well!

Giveaway: Three (3) readers from Canada or the US (excluding Quebec) will each win a copy of Fat is the New 30.

Remember, you must complete the mandatory entry in order for your extra entries to count (entries without the mandatory first entry will be discarded)!

Each entry should also appear in a different comment (do not put them together into one comment).

Mandatory entry:
To enter the giveaway, tell me why you’d like to win a copy of Fat is the New 30 (1 entry).

Daily Entries:

  • Follow me Twitter AND tweet the following (please include the link to your tweet): Laughter is the best medicine! #Win 1 of 3 copies of Fat is the New 30! @ReviewCorner http://wp.me/p10r9i-1Vv ends 05/04 CANADA/US
  • Check out all of Jill Conner Browne’s book and give me the title of another one you’d like to read (1 entry)

Additional Entries:

  • subscribe to My Little Review Corner’s RSS feeds (or tell me you already receive them)– include the email address you used (1 entry)
  • subscribe to My Little Review Corner via email (or tell me you already receive them) – include the email address you used (1 entry)
  • ”like” my Facebook fan page – include your Facebook name (1 entry)
  • share this giveaway (use Reshare button on my Facebook fan page
  • follow me on Pinterest (1 entry)
  • follow me on StumbleUpon -include your user name (1 entry)
  • follow me on Google+ (1 entry)
  • Comment on any of my non-giveaway posts – let me know which post you have commented on (1 entry per post – unlimited entries)

*Contest closes at 11:59 PM pm EST on Friday, May 4th, 2012 . Open to residents of Canada and the US (excluding Quebec), 18+ years of age.*

This entry was posted in Books, Giveaway, humor, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

195 Responses to Fat is the New 30 Giveaway (Canada/US)

  1. pamela james says:

    The Sweet Potato Queens’ Big-Ass Cookbook (and Financial Planner) by Jill Conner Brown

  2. pamela james says:

    rss feed sub
    pjames330 at aol dot com

  3. pamela james says:

    email sub
    pjames330 at aol dot com

  4. pamela james says:

    fb fan
    pamela j
    pjames330 at aol dot com

  5. pamela james says:

    google+ follower

  6. Judy Williams says:

    I’d like to read Fat is the new 30, to have an opportunity to laugh at the crappy parts of life too! We all have them, but somehow reading about other peoples problems make yours seem better.

  7. renee says:

  8. Lily Kwan says:

    I would like to win a copy of Fat is the New 30 because it sounds very interesting!

  9. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and tweeted the requested message at https://twitter.com/#!/likwan/status/198413953930493953.

  10. Lily Kwan says:

    The Sweet Potato Queens’ Big-Ass Cookbook (and Financial Planner) sounds very interesting!

  11. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed with the email address mslilyk@hotmail.com.

  12. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  13. Lily Kwan says:

    I shared this giveaway on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/233166450121727.

  14. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on StumbleUpon under the username lilyk.

  15. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Google+ under the name Lily Kwan.

  16. paul sharpe says:

    looks a very interesting book

  17. Dreena says:

    May 4: Another book I’d want to read is this one: “American Thighs: The Sweet Potato Queens’ Guide to Preserving Your Assets”
    Cheers.

Comments are closed.