Low Calorie Banana Sour Cream Cake (Recipe)

I have two main goals that I have been striving to achieve – I want to ensure that the food bought isn’t going to waste and I want to keep striving to find healthier alternatives to recipes that I’ve enjoyed in the past.

Recently, I found that the bananas just weren’t been eaten fast enough and I had low-fat sour cream in the fridge. What to do? Use the internet to find a recipe I thought the family would enjoy and then tweak it to see if I could make it healthier.

I discovered a great Sour Cream Banana Coffee Cake recipe at allrecipes.com (click on the link to see the original recipe).

When I calculated the calories, however, I knew that they were more than I wanted to invest in a snack item. I also thought if I could find a way to lower the calories and sugar content, it would be a healthier option for me, the girls and I could even share with my dad (as he is diabetic).

So I modified the recipe and I was really impressed with the results! (I have to say that Miss Eight was as well – she ate about half the cake over a couple of days!)

At only 100 calories per piece (which is a generous size!), it is a great option!

Low Calorie Banana Sour Cream Cake

Ingredients
1/4 cup non-hydrogenated margarine, softened
8 tablespoons sugar-free maple syrup (I used ED Smith but another type will do)
1 egg
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 ripe bananas
1/4 cup fat-free sour cream
1/2 teaspoon + pinch baking soda
1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.
2. Spray cake pan with Pam and then dust with flour.
3. In a large mixing bowl, combine margarine, sugar-free maple syrup, egg and vanilla. Beat until throughly combined and put to one side.
4. Mash bananas then combine, in a bowl, with sour cream. Sprinkle baking soda on mixture and gently stir then place to one side.
5. Combine flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a bowl and stir gently.
6. Fold dry ingredients to margarine/syrup/egg mixture, stirring regularly. Continue stirring until ingredients are thoroughly mixed and consistency of batter is smooth.
7. Add banana/sour cream/baking soda mixture to large bowl. Stir until all ingredients are thoroughly combined.
8. Pour into baking pan. Bake at 325 degrees Fahrenheit until golden brown and center is fully baked (you can check by inserting a toothpick into the middle – if it comes out clean, it is baked).
9. Remove from oven and place on a wire baking rack to cool.

Yield: 12 pieces
Total calories per piece: 100

This entry was posted in Food, Photography, Recipes, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Low Calorie Banana Sour Cream Cake (Recipe)

  1. multitestingmommy says:

    Sounds yummy! I am in a debate with myself right now about artificial sweeteners though….just don’ t know what to do….

  2. Elva Roberts says:

    April 12–Thank you, thank you for this low calorie recipe. I am going through Chocolate withdrawal from eating chocolate at Easter and crave something sweet. My husband had been diagnosed with type 2 diabetes so I do not want anything too sweet in the house. I will try this one first chance I get. Thank you again. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  3. Dreena says:

    Sounds good. I am going to try this recipe. Have some over-ripe bananas in the house.
    Thanks.

  4. Pingback: Welcome from the Ultimate Blog Party! | Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

  5. Elva Roberts says:

    April 18-I made this cake three days ago and there is nary a crumb left. It is absolutely delicious and all my family loved it. I will be making it again and very soon!–el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  6. Anne Taylor says:

    This sounds delicious! I think I’d throw in some raw walnuts to up its health benefits! Thanks for the recipe!

  7. Brandy says:

    Always like trying out new recipes…thanks

  8. Shirley says:

    Very creative of you to tweak the recipe so it’s healthier.

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan 5/8 – 5/14 « Life As Mom Knows It

  10. Ester G says:

    This looks fantastic! I am always looking for “treats” that aren’t full of fat 🙂

  11. Kathleen Blom says:

    I pinned this and already got people who like it. I love that it is low calorie.

  12. Thanks for finally talking about >Low Calorie Banana Sour Cream
    Cake (Recipe) | My Little Review Corner <Loved it!

Leave a Reply

