Amy’s Kitchen Provides Amazing Alternatives!

Our family has some real weaknesses – two of them being pizza and burgers! As a means of trying to eat healthier (and also finding ways to save some money!), I had been searching out some alternatives that are healthier to fast food options!

A friend of mine, who is vegetarian, suggested Amy’s Kitchen products to me. He told me that he’s been eating a variety of Amy’s Kitchen products for many years and that their flavour couldn’t be beat!

Based on his suggestion, I decided to give Amy’s Kitchen products a try!

Before I tried some of Amy’s Kitchen products, I had a look at their website. Their variety of products was absolutely amazing! While not all of their products are available in Canada, I knew that I had seen their pizzas in some of my local stores and, as we adore pizza all around, I wanted to see what they had to offer. On their site, I was impressed by the fact that you can easily identify if the item you are looking at is vegan, soy-free, gluten-free or many other things that people often look for when choosing what their family will eat. If you have allergies or other types of diet concerns, having them easily identifiable makes Amy’s Kitchen a good choice!

The first pizza that we tried was the Spinach Pizza. It has only been in the past few years that I’ve realized that no only can I tolerate spinach, but I actually like it! Described as A blend of feta cheese, basil and organic spinach topped with a sprinkling of part-skim mozzarella cheese, I couldn’t believe how much I loved this pizza! The crust is flaky and delectable and the combination of spinach and basil makes the flavour of the pizza unlike any other type of spinach pizza I’ve tried! I was surprised to learn that the cheese was a combination of mozzarella and feta cheese – the addition of feta adds a real depth to the flavour of this pizza! And, at 310 calories for 1/3 of the pizza, I can indulge without worrying that I’m going to wreck havoc on my diet!

Because the girls don’t like a lot of toppings on their pizza. we also decided to try the Cheese Pizza. I like the fact that this pizza is made with organic tomatoes and flour because I think it is a healthier choice for the girls. The tomato sauce was flavourful but not too tangy and the mozzarella was lush and flavorful! Combined with the flaky crust, the girls ate it quickly and were asking for more!

The other product I tried was the California Veggie Burgers. I really like them! They are super-easy (and quick!) to cook from frozen, they have a lot of flavour and a great texture too! I actually tend to eat them with a slice of cheese and some condiments alongside a salad. It is a great way to have a vegetarian meal without ingesting a tonne of calories as well!

I’m such a fan of Amy’s Kitchen products! I find myself checking them out every time I go to my local Zehr’s store, just to see if there are any new products in their line! If you want to see what other products are available in Canada, you can do a product search on the Canadian site. You won’t be disappointed by the flavours in Amy’s Kitchen meals!

This entry was posted in Canada, Food, gluten-free, Organic Products and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Amy’s Kitchen Provides Amazing Alternatives!

  1. Elva Roberts says:

    April 16- I am very interested in you review of ‘Amy’s Kitchen’. My husband has recently been diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, so we are trying very hard to eat healthy foods almost all the time. We both love pizza and some of the other foods you talk about. My problem will probably be to find them in our local stores, but I shall certainly look and ask for them. Thank you for your comments on these healthy products.-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  2. Anne Taylor says:

    I’ve never tried any of Amy’s products, but I have stopped to look at them. I think we’d love the Indian dishes and the Pizza!

  3. Shirley says:

    May be the spinach pizza will change my mind about vegetarian pizzas too…

  4. Ester G says:

    I have not tried “Amy’s” products yet, but I will keep my eyes open for one of those pizzas!

  5. Kathleen Blom says:

    The spinach pizza sounds great.

Leave a Reply

