Importance of Earth Week – Wordless Wednesday

About a month ago I decided to take a long walk and found myself near the train tracks. When I looked down, I couldn’t believe what I saw. To me, these photos represent why it is so important to take care of the world around us. I can’t imagine not trying to make the world a better place for future generations!

These images have inspired me – in the words of Gandhi: “Be the change you want to see in the world.” I’m going to keep my eye out for the next road cleaning event (which I know are held regularly in the area) and volunteer to help!

This entry was posted in Photography, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Importance of Earth Week – Wordless Wednesday

  1. Dreena says:

    I really hate when people litter!!! As a family we are going out to the park to pick up others’ trash. Let’s keep it clean for everyone. Glad you are also helping out by cleaning up.
    Cheers!

  2. Raylene says:

    We have a HUGE coulee clean-up (starting in 2 weeks) every year because with our wind (crazy wind) things get so crazy and start to look like these pics. We take it pretty seriously, actually, as a community, and I love that! ~ Raylene

  3. Raylene says:

    We have a big coulee clean up (starting in 2 weeks) every year in the spring because with our crazy winds, the river valley starts to look just like these pics. Our whole community takes it pretty seriously, which I really love! ~ Raylene

  4. Kathryn says:

    Good for you! My boys actually bring a trash bag along when we run errands so that we can pick up garbage along the way! 🙂

  5. Sober Julie says:

    Yup, it’s the areas we rarely travel that have the most litter I find

  6. multitestingmommy says:

    GAH that makes me sick to look at! How can we let our Earth look like that?!

  7. multitestingmommy says:

    Trying again to leave a comment……this just makes me sick to look at the messes that we let linger!

  8. Tarasview says:

    my kids came home from school this week talking about all the garbage that had blown up against the fence around the school yard over the winter- they did a schoolyard clean up for earth week. Sad really.

  9. Brandy says:

    It’s sad to see so much disregard for the earth…

  10. It always amazes me when the snow melts what pigs are living on this earth. I certainly can’t imagine what their own homes look like. No respect

  11. Elva Roberts says:

    April 24-I think these scenes are disgusting and there is no need for them. We should all have pride in our neighbourhood and take care to keep it pristine. My mother was a great example to me. She made me promise that I would always pick up cut glass so noone would get cut in the foot, and to this day I pick up cut glass when I can. She had a compost pile and was exceptionally clean about the environment and this was 70 year ago! I have realized that she was ahead of her time and a true environmentalist.-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  12. Anne Taylor says:

    Unfortunately there are too many places like this! Living on an island we go down to the waterfront very regularly and pick up garbage (including cigarette butts).

  13. Elva Roberts says:

    April 27-Here I am to tell you all how proud I am of my eldest daughter who is babysitting her grandchild, helping her husband on his farm and yet, when I called last evening, was outside picking up debris in the ditches and along their country road. She is a very environmentally aware person and I am so happy she cares about her environment.-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  14. A.Smith says:

    This was the first year we really participated in Earth Day. My daughter and I helped pick up garbage at our local zoo with budding naturalists group. It was fun and I think she learned how to respect her environment.

  15. Laura P says:

    All the garbage in those pics makes me sad. 😦

  16. Shirley says:

    That is really sickening.

  17. Ester G says:

    It makes me so sad to see people discarding their waste wherever they feel like it. A real combination of laziness and disrespect. Earth day should be every day; when I was in school once a week the teacher had us clean up litter in the school yard. The amount of waste steadily decreased over the year, presumably because an awareness was brought about when collecting the trash.

  18. Kathleen Blom says:

    Littering is such a shame. I stop people who I see litter and ask if they know they dropped something.

Leave a Reply

