Note to the Networks – Give New Shows a Chance!

A couple of monthes ago I vented my frustrations with this time of year – dealing with renewals or cancellations of my favourite tv programs.

At the time I had no idea how ironic my post was because, at the end of the post, I wrote about a new show that I was really enjoying called Awake and I lamented about my fear of enjoying a new show, only to find it is cancelled.

Well, guess what? While reading an article on 4 Big TV Gambles That Failed This Season, I picked up on a brief reference that made my blood boil. They stated that failures this season included “high-concept science fiction like Fox’s “Alcatraz” or NBC’s “Awake.” They were canceled last week…”

Are you kidding me?

Both Alcatraz and Awake were on for only 2-3 monthes and were launched as mid and late season replacements. If you weren’t watching from the beginning (which I was, sadly as it turns out!), then you barely had time to blink before they were ripped away!

I’m so ticked off! I can understand if a show is launched in the fall and, over the course of a season, fails to yield results. But these shows were never given a chance!

Both Alcatraz and Awake were interesting and had unique storylines. They weren’t cookie-cutter shows (like Revenge -which apparently is a hit this season but I turned off after the first episode because I’ve seen that show so many times before, just called something else!) and they were interesting and made me think!

I’m so tired of having no choice but to watch reality tv. Don’t get me wrong – I love reality tv (as I’m going to talk about on another day because some of my favourite series just ended) but I need more than that in my television viewing.

I think the only thing that makes me smile is the fact that the smartest new shows I’ve seen this season are still going strong and are slated for renewal – Once Upon a Time, which I’ve raved about before, Grimm (which I keep meaning to talk about!) and Touch (if you need me I’ll be finding some wood to knock on because this show is SO good that I’m now paranoid that it will be cancelled!!).

Want to know what shows have been cancelled? Check out this updated list – I know I will be following this site to see what is happening (sadly, it showed me that A Gifted Man and The Finder have definitely been cancelled too!). If you need me, I’ll be dealing with the loss of these shows, along with Harry’s Law and House!

Is anyone else frustrated with some of the shows that have been cancelled this season?

This entry was posted in Media, tv and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Note to the Networks – Give New Shows a Chance!

  1. This has been very frustrating to me, too – and more this season than any other. I am wondering just what it takes to ensure a show will continue…. or if there is any science to it whatsoever. Neilson ratings used to be the main driving force behind cancellations, but I can’t see how they can be accurate in this day and age, considering all the different ways consumers watch t.v. We not only have many methods to receive our once only “televised” entertainment, but we can catch up on episodes and become new viewers in a multitude of ways, too.

  2. Wow. I do not like reality tv, as well. I saw the list and this makes me sad ….. really Sad..:(
    There are at least 10 shows that I like. Big Bummer!!!

  3. Ms. Key says:

    I actually really enjoyed Pan Am, I’m disappointed it was cancelled. This is a long list of cancelled programming… crazy!

  4. Anne Taylor says:

    omg Harry’s Law is going too? I watched both Awake and Alcatraz and was just talking to hubby yesterday about Are you there Chelsea….I’m still trying to accept that next weeks House will be the last. We also enjoyed A Gifted Man and Unforgettable……..I’m so sad

  5. Elva Roberts says:

    May 17- You are certainly not alone by a long shot! I just became interested in ‘Harry’s Law’ and now it is off the air-there’s no Justice!–I also like ‘ A Gifted Man’ and now he’s toast. I really don;’t know why some stay on like “kids in the hall’, which in my opinion is garbage. I keep wondering who on that show is related to the sponsor of same show. I do not watch it as I would not eat garbage and this is the same for the mind. CRCT is going to hear from me!! el03ro

  6. Soozle says:

    Wow! I agree with you, the networks really don’t give some shows a chance to ‘make it’ before they yank them off the air…

    I was actually surprised Fear Factor didn’t make the cut – after so many sucessful seasons in the past I thought it would have been ‘back’ for at least a year or two!

  7. Lief says:

    It’s such a letdown that a lot of TV shows were axed recently, it’s more saddening to know that some of them didn’t deserve the cancellations. But I’m still grateful that most of my fave shows made it.

  8. Ester G says:

    I get VERY sad when a show i love is cancelled. Summer is hard too because my favorite shows aren’t coming back until fall. My husband and I have taken to buying box sets of older (finished) shows to watch. Took us almost a year to get through the entire series of “24” but it was great because no commercials and we could watch it anywhere we wanted!

  9. Kathleen Blom says:

    I too love Once Upon a Time. I know what you mean about shows being cancelled without a chance. I usually read they have been cancelled right after I’ve seen adds promoting the new show

Leave a Reply

