Reading – all the cool people are doing it! (Book Challenge #19-22)

This month I’ve been continuing on in my quest to read 100 books this year! It is a big challenge but I feel like I can do it – I just need to write about all the books that I actually read (and finish the books I’m enjoying but haven’t quite gotten around to completing!).

That being said, I wanted to share some of the recent books I’ve read. It’s been a real mix of books (though you will notice that, again, I’ve been gravitating towards to young adult novels) and some have been better than others!

Margaux with an X by Ron Koertge is a really interesting young adult novel that is angst-filled (to say the least!). Margaux is a beautiful girl who appears to have it all – she is aloof and is the type of girl that every boy wants to know. While it looks, on the surface, like Margaux has everything, her life is really empty. Her mom is a Shopping Channel addict and her father is a professional gambler. Margaux keeps everyone at arm’s length until she mets a boy who wants to forge a friendship. Margaux wants it too – she just doesn’t know how to let him in. This book is incredibly disturbing as the reason behind Margaux’s attitude are uncovered.

I really enjoyed this book though the twist to the story appears at the end and it left me with such sympathy for Margaux. I appreciated her strong will and her attitude and the ending blew my mind (I didn’t see it coming!). I’d highly recommend this book for high school students or adults.

Crossed by Ally Condle was another book I recently read – it is the sequel to Matched which I recently wrote about. This novel picks up where Matched left off – Cassia has left her home and is on a search for Ky. The chapters alternate – one chapter is from Cassia’s perspective, which the next one is written from Ky’s point of view. They do find one another….but now what? Will they be able to find The Rising and participate in a rebellion against society?

While I did find the book enjoyable, it just wasn’t as gripping as Matched. I did enjoy the book enough to finish it but I must admit that I won’t be searching out the final book in the trilogy as it has lost its appeal for me (sorry Cassia and Ky!).

For something a bit lighter, I decided to read The List by Siobhan Vivian. This recently released book was really interesting to me! Set in a high school, every year a list is released (though noone knows who is the author) that pronounces the prettiest and ugliest girl in each grade. The crux of the novel is that each chapter is written by one of the girls on the list – the story alternates between each girl’s perspective about being on the list. From one of the pretty girls who finds her plunging into an eating disorder as she believes it is linked to her beauty to another girl who decides to embarass her peers by writing “UGLY” on her forehead, it is interesting to see how each girl deals with being on the list.

There is also a mystery involved in the novel – who is the author of this list?

I found The List to be totally different from any other novel that I’ve ever read and I really liked it! I’d recommend it for both teens and adults because I think the characters are easy to relate to and I was surprised to discover how the novel ends.

Finally, I went for something completely different and read Stalked by Brian Freeman. This novel is definitely for adults with a storyline that revolves around blackmail, rape, murder and sex clubs wrapped around a mystery.

I found the novel interesting and intriguing, but incredibly graphic as well. Overall, I enjoyed the novel though the ending did drag out a bit at the end – once I knew how it was going to end the last 40 pages seemed to go on and on. If you like a novel full of twists and turns (and don’t mind reading about sex clubs!) then I think you would enjoy Stalked.

Believe it or not, I’ve actually read even more and I’ll be telling you about them soon!

This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reading – all the cool people are doing it! (Book Challenge #19-22)

  1. Wow. That is a lot of reading. But I bet 100 will come fast. The books you mentioned about sound pretty good. Going to check a few out. Happy reading.

  2. Elva Roberts says:

    May 19- I am very intrigued by the book ‘The List’ by Silbhan Vivian. I think I will try to get this book for one of my granddaughters. I think she would really enjoy it and maybe I would read it myself.-el03ro–e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  3. Anne Taylor says:

    These sound like really great reads…I never seem to have time to spend reading lately lol (too much time in front of the pc)

  4. Kathleen Blom says:

    I love the idea of a book challenge. I might even do that myself.

Leave a Reply

