Person of Interest – Why the Violence?

One of my favourite new shows this year is Person of Interest but it drives me crazy at the same time!

I’ve talked about why I don’t watch the news and I know that I mentioned that the violence disturbs me. If you’ve seen Person of Interest, you might be asking, “How can she like this show if she doesn’t even want to see violence on the news?” because there is a LOT of violence on this show!

Though the violence bothers me, the show itself is ingenious. If you haven’t seen the show, it revolves around 2 main characters: Harold Finch – an awkward genius who is in charge of something known as the “The Machine” – and John Reese (aka Reese), a for CIA field officer who has been living off the grid. Finch seeks out Reese because he needs help – Finch built the machine after 9/11 for the government to predict future terrorist attacks but, instead, he has realized that it is giving him information about people who are either about commit crimes or who are targeted for death. And he needs help.

The show is brilliant – the premise is so interesting because, of course, once Reese appears back on the grid, the CIA and the FBI are trying to find him. As well, Reese ends up enlisting the help of 2 NYPD detectives – one who has connections to corruption (Lionel Fusco) and another who has been trying to track him down herself (Joss Carter). And, even though they work together, neither one actually knows that the other is also helping out Reese and Finch because the two detectives don’t fully trust one another!

And the actors are wonderful! Michael Emerson, who plays Finch, was familiar to me because I remember his role as a serial killer on The Practice a number of years ago. His affectations and mannerisms make his character unique and he plays the role incredibly well (which is ironic, I know, because usually affectations are artificial but they play a part in showing the character’s stilted nature)! And Jim Caviezel, the actor behind the character of Reese? Not only is he an incredibly attractive man (I’m impressed I was able to type that without drooling on the keyboard!), but his portrayal of Reese is excellent! Add to these two actors a great supporting cast – including a supporting actors of seasoned vetran actors (I know I have seen Kevin Chapman in a number of movies and shows and Taraji P. Henson from her roles on Boston Legal and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button) and the result is simply brilliant! And, most exciting to me, has been the addition of Annie Parisse, who I absolutely loved on Law&Order!

So what is my problem with this show? Well, as I mentioned, there is a LOT of gratuitous violence in the show. It seems that they can’t go half an episode without shootings, car crashes and other forms of violence. If I thought that the violence was always necessary to the plot I would understand. But the violence often seems over the top to me.

I hope that the popularity of the show is tied to the premise and the acting and not strictly the violence. While I love Person of Interest, I am hoping that, in Season Two (yeah – a show I like has not been cancelled!!!) they will tone down the gratuitous violence and focus on tightening the storylines. This show is great and I think, by doing this, it will make it even better!

This entry was posted in Media, Review, tv and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Person of Interest – Why the Violence?

  1. Christine says:

    I haven’t seen the show yet, but now you’ve got my curiosity piqued. I also think this is something my husband would really like to watch.

  2. Mag says:

    Thanks for sharing your opinion. The amount of violence might bother me.

  3. Cheryl says:

    I should try to find it! I think we PVR’d a bunch of them and forgot to watch them. Maybe I’ll have summer viewing material!

  4. Shirley says:

    I share your hope that there will be less violence in season 2.

  5. Anne Taylor says:

    When this show started, I don’t remember it being as violent as it is now. They have sort of morphed the show in a way and have brought more guns, crashes, explosions, etc. into it. The premise is brilliant though! I love it!

  6. CanadianDadBlog says:

    I’ve never seen the show because I wanted to make sure there would be a season 2 before getting into it! Game On I guess! Thanks!

  7. Elva Roberts says:

    May 24I have not watched this show and Probably will not now as I do not care for the violence in many of the shows. We cancelled the Movie Channel for the same reason. I yearn for the good old westerns where there would probably be one or two shootouts and the obligatory fist fight in the bar and a lot of acting in between-the good, the bad and the ugly but, hopefully, not the violent. -el03ro

  8. Pingback: Person of Interest…A Pleasant Surprise | True Mister Six

  9. Kathleen Blom says:

    I couldn’t watch it because of the violence

Leave a Reply

