Free Hugs!

Growing up, there was a poem I remember learning that I think is still true today!

Hug!!

It’s wonderful what a hug can do
A hug can cheer you when you’re blue.
A hug can say, “I love you so.”
Or “Gee, I hate to see you go.”
A hug is “Welcome back again.”
And “Great to see you, where’ve you been?”

A hug can smooth a small child’s pain
And bring a rainbow after rain.
The hug:There’s no doubt about it
We scarcely could survive without it.
A hug delights and warms and charms-
That must be why God gave us arms.

Hugs are great for Fathers and Mothers,
Sweet for sisters, swell for brothers.
And chances are your favorite aunts
Love them more than potted plants!
Kittens crave them, puppies love them,
Heads of State are not above them.

A hug can break the language barrier
And make your travels so much merrier.
No need to fret about your store of them
The more you give the more there’s are of ’em.
So stretch those arms without delay
And give someone a hug today!
~Author Unknown

I’d forgotten about this poem until recently, when someone told me the story of Juan Mann and the “Free Hugs” campaign.

Have you seen the video? (I promise – it is well worth a watch!)

The video had me moved to tears (one of those moments where I can’t explain why I was tearing up but I was simply so moved by the words and actions I was seeing).

Then I heard the story – and I knew I had to share it! While I don’t want to do anything to compromise the words of Juan himself – visit Free Hugs Campaign and you will learn how his story began and what people are doing around the world.

With all the darkness in the world, it is beautiful to see something so amazing in its simplicity. I’ve decided that, while I won’t be wearing a “Free Hugs” sign anytime soon, I will begin making more of an effort to hug the people I care about because I think that type of human contact can make a bad day become so much better!

Who have you hugged today?

This entry was posted in inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Free Hugs!

  1. InezbyDesign says:

    That video was very moving…sniff!

  2. Soozle says:

    Wow! That video brought tears to my eyes as well! Such a beautiful message – it’s amazing the power a simple touch can have!

  3. Anne Taylor says:

    What a heartwarming poem & video! Thanks for sharing! I love getting hugs but I’m surrounded by people who don’t like them 😦

  4. Elva Roberts says:

    June 2–I loved this video. My family were not huggers. I was hugged when I was nearly twenty and I hug a lot now that I’m older. I love getting and giving hugs. The first person to hug him was o senior and probably she knew what hugs do to you -make you feel much better. Thank your for this video!-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  5. JENNIFER HART says:

    I AM AN AWESOME HUGGER ,I GIVE IT EVERYTHING I GOT WHEN I HUG! I AM SURROUNDED BY PEOPLE WHO DO NOT LIKE TO HUG ALOT EITHER,BUT HERE IS A SECRET I HAVE LEARNED ABOUT MOST NON-HUGGERS, THEY MAY NOT LIKE TO GIVE BUT THEY LOVE GETTING THEM JUST AS MUCH OR MAYBE MORE THAN REGULAR HUGGERS.

  6. Mag says:

    I felt so sad at the beginning of the video when everybody was ignoring him.

  7. Kathleen Blom says:

    What a great story

Leave a Reply

