Lost – How Did I Miss It?

I remember, a few years ago, when I began hearing about the television show, Lost.

At the time, I tried watching the show but it had already been on for a few seasons and I felt totally lost (pardon the pun!) with the storyline and the characters. So I gave up.

Last summer, on a whim, I bought Lost Season One at a garage sale. I thought by getting Season One, I could watch the show from the beginning and see what it was all about. I also figured, if the show wasn’t as great as I had heard, I’d only spent a few dollars, right?

A couple of weeks ago, with nothing on television and a quiet evening in, I remembered I had that first season and started watching it. I couldn’t imagine how many hours would be spent over the following few days watching it!

Lost is absolutely amazing! The premise of the story is that there a plane crash and the survivors are lost together and want to find their way home. Sounds simple enough, right? Not even close!

This cast of characters includes a doctor (played by Matthew Fox – I had a major crush on him back in the 1990s when he was on Party of Five!), a criminal who was in the custody of a US Marshall during the crash, a domineering Japanese man and his wife, a pregnant Australian woman, a rock musician and a father who has just picked up his young son after his ex-wife died among others.

The story is told through a combination of events unfolding after the crash and flashbacks into the lives of the characters immediately before the crash and in their daily lives leading up to the crash.

The weaving of the characters’ histories, in conjunction with their attempts to figure out where they are, how they can be saved and how to deal with some incredibly scary unknown forces that are incredibly bizarre (including having to kill a polar bear on their tropical island!) makes this tv series engaging, enthralling and intriguing!

With Season One completed, I need to source out the rest of this series. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Did you ever watch Lost? If so, what did you think of it?

This entry was posted in Media, Review, tv and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lost – How Did I Miss It?

  1. Anne Taylor says:

    I never watched Lost, but “almost” did lol It never really appealed to me personally, but I know it had a huge following. Knowing that you are enjoying it makes me want to watch it now! Thanks

  2. steosphere says:

    I watched Lost for the entire six years it was on and I don’t think a TV show has ever given me as much content to discuss and theorize over as Lost did. It’s still one of my all-time favourite shows and will be for a long time to come.

    • I am just starting Season 3 and I am so intrigued by the whole premise of the show. I asked a friend recently how the story ends and she said it was quite controversial. I can’t wait to see what the rest of the seasons bring!

      • steosphere says:

        Oh the ending is controversial alright. You’ll either love it to hate it with a flaming passion.

        Without spoiling things, I can say that however bizarre you find the show now, it’ll increase x10 from season four onward!

  3. Mikaela Ramsay says:

    I never watched it when it was on TV, but I found it on Netflix a couple months ago and my husband and I are addicted! We just started watching season 4.

  4. Elva Roberts says:

    June 25-I watched bits of the show once in a while. I asked my Middle Daughter about it as she watched it. She informed me that, In her opinion, if I hadn’t watched it from day 1 that it was too complicated to start now. I did not watch it after that but I know that a lot of people did and were intrigued by it. -el03ro

  5. Debbie P says:

    I am a huge Lost fan! We bought Season one years ago and spent so many hours watching it, and the rest of the Seasons since. A very intriguing show indeed. Another show we loved was Prison Break.

  6. multitestingmommy says:

    We LOVED this show!

  7. Florence c says:

    I watched the first couple seasons and lost interest in it

  8. Mag says:

    After reading all these comments, I have to go rent the DVDs.

  9. Ester G says:

    I never watched this one, but I sure heard a lot about it. Maybe I will have to put that on my “wish list” for my birthday :))

  10. Kathleen Blom says:

    I just couldn’t get into it

  11. Pingback: I’m Lost in Lost (Seasons 2, 3 and 4) | Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

Leave a Reply

