#HeyCanada shows Canada in a new light!

I’m proud to be Canadian – when I was in university I remember sitting in a sociology class and the professor asking us where our ancestors came from. He seemed perplexed when I said “Canada” and asked where my parents were born – “Canada”. My grandparents? “Canada” My great-grandparents? “Canada” Great-great grandparents? Yes – still Canada! While I adore the fact that Canada is incredibly diverse, and I relish any opportunity to embrace all of the cultural facets of Canada, I’m also proud of the things that I think are unique about our country!

I also want to pass on that sense of pride to the girls, so I was excited when I learned about the book Hey Canada! Written by Vivien Bowers and illustrated by Milan Pavlovic, Hey Canada! is a fun story that also teaches a great deal about our great country!

According to the synopsis of the book, Gran has decided that she is taking nine-year-old Alice and eight-year-old Cal on a road trip across Canada “before she’s old and creaky.” With a sparkling combination of poems, silly songs, tweets and blogs, the trio records the trip for readers everywhere to share. Starting in St. John’s Newfoundland, where they have a “find-it” list that includes a moose and an iceberg and going all the way to the Pacific Ocean, the gang in Hey Canada! offers a delightful way to learn about vast, varied, and surprising Canada.

The book combines narrative, poems, photos, comics about historical events such as the battle at Fortress Louisburg, maps (including provincial flags, birds, and flowers), in a lively, easily accessible format. Not only great fun to read, this is a valuable resource for young Canadians and for visitors across the country.

I thought that the book was fun and whimsical and I actually learned some things as well! Because the girls haven’t had a chance to see much of Canada (nor have I to be honest!), it was a great way to learn some fun things about our country! And the illustrations? Absolutely brilliant! I thought they captured the Canadian landscape beautifully while incorporating fun characters at the same time!

With Canada Day just around the corner, this book would be a great one to share with your kids!

This entry was posted in Books, Canada, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to #HeyCanada shows Canada in a new light!

  1. Anne Taylor says:

    This book sounds perfect for myself and my grandkids! I look forward to reading it! Thanks for the introduction & Happy Canada Day!

  2. kitblu says:

    My father was in the military until I was 14. I saw quite a bit of Canada that way as well as because my parents are from different provinces. We moved to Ontario when he retired. I have lived in several places in this province and visited several other parts of the country.

  3. Elva Roberts says:

    July 3-Thank you for telling us about ‘Hey Canada!’–I think this would be a great book for my grandchildren to learn more, in a fun way, about our Country. Maybe their Grandmother(me) would learn some new things as well. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  4. Ester G says:

    I love finding books with great Canadian content 🙂 Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Hey Canada! Blog Tour: Day 5 « Talking with Tundra

  6. Pingback: Hey Canada! Blog Tour « Talking with Tundra

  7. Mag says:

    This sounds like a fun book to read.

  8. Kathleen Blom says:

    What a great way to learn about Canada

Leave a Reply

