Crock-Pot Makes Summer Cooking Easier!

As much as I love the warmth that comes with the summer, I absolutely hate having to turn on the stove! It is a dilemma because I want to cook nutritious meals but I hate using elements or the oven because I feel like I’m defeating the purpose of trying to keep cool by doing so!

Luckily, Crock-Pot offers the best of both worlds! This summer I’ve been using the 5 Qt Round Smart Pot Slow Cooker. It is the perfect size because it is ideal for 4-5 people and its one touch control and 3 heat settings makes it incredibly easy to use! I can choose to either cook items on High for 4 or 6 hours, Low for 8 or 10 hours and I can keep my creations warm using the Warm setting.

I wanted to make something that was reflective of the amazing produce available in the summer and that would also keep my healthy lifestyle. I decided to check out the Slow Cooker Recipes on the crock-pot.ca‘s website and decided to try my hand at  Summer Vegetable Ratatouille with Basil Olive Oil.

This recipe was super-easy to make and the result was flavourful and fulfilling. There was enough to serve everyone and the response from everyone was really positive, so I know I’ll make it again!

When I was done using the 5 Qt Round Smart Pot Slow Cooker, it was really easy to cleanup at well! Because of its removable stoneware, I was able to pull it out, wash it in the sink and return its place in under 5 minutes!

Since trying the Summer Vegetable Ratatouille with Basil Olive Oil, I can’t wait to use my Crock-Pot to make some more easy recipes! I really like the sound and look of the Sausage Casserole and I think the girls would really enjoy the Moist, Crunchy Chocolate Cake!

This entry was posted in Food, Home and Appliances, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crock-Pot Makes Summer Cooking Easier!

  1. Ester G says:

    I have thought about buying a CrockPot for months, but this article has finally talked me into it. There are so many things; chilli, ratatouille, pulled pork…. the list goes on! Must buy!!

  2. Anne Taylor says:

    We love using our crock pot all year round! We make sloppy joes and a really healthy chick pea stew! They are great in the summer!

  3. I used to have a crock pot!! I need to get one, once again! 🙂

  4. I hadn’t thought of using my crockpot during the summer. I really need to get one with a timer setting, it would make life so much easier. I’d love to try making some desserts in it as well as old fashioned oatmeal

  5. Elva Roberts says:

    July 10–I was given a Crock pot several years ago. I tried it a few times but I was unhappy with the results. I don’t know if it was me or the Crock-pot! This article inspired me to try again as I have a cook book for Crockpot cooking. Thanks for the update. el03ro

  6. Mag says:

    I love my Crockpot. I found a lot of great recipes on their website.

  7. Kathleen Blom says:

    I had always thought of the crockpot as a winter cooking method. This gives some good ideas for using in the summer.

Leave a Reply

