Books I Won’t Be Reading this Summer #FiftyShadesofGrey

I love reading, as I know many of you have realized (I wish I had the time to write about all of the things that I read – is it wrong to pray for more hours in the day?!).

I also enjoy reading a variety of genres and I’m game to read almost anything.
So why WON’T I be reading Fifty Shades of Grey this summer?

Over 80 books on my “to be read” shelves but this one isn’t one of them!

First off – I’m probably one of the least prudish people you’ll ever meet…so when the synopsis of a book makes me feel dirty – it isn’t for me.

Secondly – I tend not to read books that are centred around a lot of hype because I often find that they don’t live up to the hype they get (I’ve never read Twilight or Harry Potter….and I’ve lived!).

Thirdly – I hate reading books that are poorly written. And the word from my friends who have read the trilogy is that, while they loved the racy content, the books are not written well (which would drive me bananas!).

Finally – if I wanted more excitement in my life, I’d just aim to have more excitement in my life (instead of reading about it). I don’t read books about skydiving, deep sea fishing or climbing Everest either – for exactly the same reason.

So if you want to read Fifty Shades of Grey, that is totally cool. To each her (or his) own! That being said, no one should worry that I’m going to rip the last copy of it out of their hands in the bookstore, join the waiting list at the Public Library (I’m assuming it is at our Public Library though, shockingly, I haven’t checked!) or ask to borrow your copy!

(PS – I just heard there will be a movie version coming out as well…and I have no plans of watching it either)

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Books I Won’t Be Reading this Summer #FiftyShadesofGrey

  1. Gytha Lodge says:

    I know exactly what you mean about all of this, and wouldn’t have read a word if I hadn’t wanted to pan it with authority… Instead, I’ve now parodied it. That’ll do nicely, I think!

  2. I read all 3 of the books so I could take an informed stand on it. I hated it. It’s such poor writing that I couldn’t get past that. By the 2nd book, I skipped past all sex scenes. I just don’t know why books like this can get published based on the writing alone, not the subject matter.

  3. Jennifer says:

    for the record the Harry Potter series is fabulous! 😉 I’m over half way done this 50 shades, I’m not getting what the hype was about to be honest.

  4. I don’t know anything about it (although I have head some hype). I don’t have any time to read anyways…

    Besos, Sarah
    Zookeeper at Journeys of The Zoo

  5. Anne Taylor says:

    I’ve not read any Harry Potter nor do I plan on reading Shades. I stay away from “trendy” books most of the time!

  6. I’m totally on board. No Twilight, Harry Potter or other “hyped ” up books for me as well. I’ve also heard a lot about the poor writing so it’s on my pass list.

  7. Ester G says:

    All of my girlfriends are reading this and raving about it. I find that I hardly have time to read, so when I do pick up a book (err… technically an ereader now) I want it to be something that I LOVE. I prefer to read more historical fiction and biographies. This just isn’t for me!

  8. Soozle says:

    I’m with you on that – I have heard a few snippets of what the book goes into and it just disgusted me.. Also, as a hardcore reader myself I think the book being poorly written would really bother me too..

    All in all – not a book I will be reading either!

  9. Elva Roberts says:

    July 14-Thanks for the ‘heads up’on this book. I do not go for ‘trendy’ books either. I llike books to be well written so that the time flies by and you don’t want to put it down. -el03ro

  10. Pamalot says:

    I couldn’t handle it, to be honest.

  11. Mag says:

    I’ve heard about the book lately and was wondering about it. Thanks to your review (or non-review!) I don’t need to waste my time.

  12. Kathleen Blom says:

    I too had heard of it but your review means i won’t waste my time.

Leave a Reply

