Banana Cubes – Perfect for Summer Smoothies!

I love eating fruits and vegetables (especially in the summer) but there are times when I get a little excited and buy too much! And, as I hate the idea of wasting food, I’m always looking for ways to use produce when I’ve bought too much.

Growing up, my mom always took bananas that had become too ripe and put them in the freezer. By storing them in the freezer, they could be taken out when she wanted to make banana bread or smoothies.

I ran into a problem though (and I don’t know if I’m the only person who feels this way) but I hate putting bananas in the freezer. I don’t like seeing them in my freezer with their black skins and I hate how they feel when I take them out of the freezer to use (the skins are just nasty)!

I figured there had to be a better way! So I did some experimenting and found the perfect way to store frozen bananas – make banana cubes!

To make Banana Cubes, I took 3 ripe bananas and mashed them up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I was done mashing them, I put the mash into the ice cube tray (1 banana filled up approximately 4 cube spaces). I then covered the tray with tin foil and placed it in the freezer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After leaving them to freeze overnight, I removed them from the tray (this step was the one I was unsure about as I didn’t know if they’d come out easily – but they did!) and placed them in a freezer-friendly container.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The banana cubes stay separated and are easily to use in smoothies or they can be thawed for use in banana bread.

No more disgusting banana peels for me!

This entry was posted in Food, Organization, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Banana Cubes – Perfect for Summer Smoothies!

  1. Ester G says:

    Great idea!

  2. Ira says:

    Great idea! I’m just thinking that I don’t have a single recipe where I would use only one or two cubes and they take up more space in the freezer that way. I’ll try baby cubes (70ml) – this should be perfect for smoothies.

  3. that’s an awesome idea! I always hate trying to peel them when they are frozen…this will help!

  4. Anne Taylor says:

    You know, I’ve always frozen old bananas for banana bread but have never thought of freezing them this way! Thanks for the idea!

  5. I freeze my bananas and use them in muffins and smoothies all the time. Great way to make sure you don’t have food go to waste

  6. Soozle says:

    What a great idea! In the summer I usually have a smoothie every day with all of the fresh fruit available – this is a perfect idea for the bananas!

  7. Florence C says:

    I never have frozen bananas before. what a great idea

  8. Elva Roberts says:

    July 23-I think this is an excellent idea. Just the other evening I was rushing to use up very ripe bananas in a recipe so I would not have to dispose of them in the garbage. I love smoothies so this is a great plus for me. Thanks.-el03ro

  9. Pingback: California Cling Peaches – Add Fruit to Your Diet (Recipes) | Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

  10. Sarah p says:

    This is a really great idea, and will be so helpful considering our family’s resolution to eat healthier this year.

Leave a Reply

