California Cling Peaches – Add Fruit to Your Diet (Recipes)

I don’t know if I’m going to age myself here, but whenever I think about peaches the song by the Presidents of the United States of America comes right into my mind. “Movin’ to the country I’m gonna eat a lot of peaches/Peaches come from a can they were put there by a man/In a factory downtown/If I had my little way I’d eat peaches everyday”.

I’ve been working hard to include more fruit into my diet and California Cling Peaches fit right in! Here are some great tips if you are like me and are making an effort to put more fruit into your diet.

Breakfast:
• For quick weekday breakfast, especially in the winter and spring when fresh peaches are  not available, add canned peaches to granola and top with yogurt
• Add canned peaches to a favourite smoothie recipe
• Canned peach slices make a perfect topping for pancakes, crepes, waffles or French toast

Lunch:
• Canned peaches are a nutritious addition to any green or grain-based salads
• Toss a can of diced peaches with peppers, onion, cilantro, olive oil and lime juice to make a zesty salsa

Dinner:
• Canned California cling peaches can be added to stir-fry, cooked in a casserole or even mixed into sauces for roasts
• Canned peaches add a flavour and colour boost to vegetarian, meat, chicken or fish dishes

Dessert:
• Canned California cling peaches hold their flavour and consistency better
than fresh peaches. Canned peaches can be substituted for fresh peaches in recipes such as crisps, cobblers and pies
• Peach slices are easy and fun to make with kids and provide a tasty after dinner snack year round

One of the suggestions I found was to add canned peaches to a smoothie. The girls love having smoothies (actually, they love them all year round, which is even better with California Cling Peaches because I never have to worry about only getting them in the summer!) and recently I decided to try two new types – I made one version for the girls and another version (with a few less calories) for myself!
For the girls, I made the the Peach Smoothie:

Peach Smoothie
(Recipe and image courtesy of California Cling Peach Board)

Ingredients
1 can (14 oz/398 mL) California cling peach slices
1 banana, sliced
1 cup (250 mL) low or nonfat yogurt
1 cup (250 mL) milk
10 ice cubes

Directions:
Whirl all ingredients in a food processor or blender until smooth. Pour into glasses.
Makes 4 servings

And, for myself, I made a variation on this recipe.

Low-Calorie Peach Smoothie

Ingredients
1 can (14 oz/398 ml) California cling peach slices
6 banana cubes (you can learn how to make these here)
1/2 cup reduced-calorie orange juice
4 ice cubes

Directions:

Put all ingredients into a blender. Combine until smooth. Pour into glasses.

Yield: 3 servings
Calories per serving: 95

The girls absolutely loved the Peach Smoothie, while I enjoyed my own Low Calorie Peach Smoothie. So if you are looking for a summer drink, try these out!

For more ideas and recipes, check out the California Cling Peaches website!

This entry was posted in Food, Photography, Recipes, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to California Cling Peaches – Add Fruit to Your Diet (Recipes)

  1. Mmmm I love peaches! Especially this time of year 🙂 That peach smoothie looks so good, I’ll have to try it out. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I love peaches!!! Great recipe ideas. 🙂

  3. Soozle says:

    I loooooove peaches as well – one of my favorite ‘summer’ fruits!

    Thanks for sharing the website – there are some really great recipes on there like the peach crumble cake!

  4. Christine says:

    Oh my goodness! This post is making my mouth water! 🙂

  5. I have a similiar recipe for peach smoothie but I use Torani peach syrup (0 calories), peaches and fat free yogourt. Really good 🙂

  6. Anne Taylor says:

    Your smoothie sounds delicious! I adore peaches. My mom used to make “Peach Heaven”. She used freshly picked peaches off of their tree. It was basically layers of peaches and whipping cream, put in the freezer for a few hours, taken out and sprinkled with brown sugar and put in the oven under the broiler until the sugar was crystalized and yummy! (not too healthy, but a great once a summer treat)

    • Thanks Anne – that sounds SO good! I think it would be an amazing treat (and I bet with a few tweaks I could produce a lower calorie version! You’ve inspired me – if I figure it out I promise I’ll share it here! 🙂

  7. Elva Roberts says:

    July 26-Thanks for the post on the peach smoothie. I love smoothies but never thought to make one using peaches. your recipe sounded so delicious that I will make one this weekend and share with my youngest daughter who will be visiting me.-el03ro

  8. Fan R. says:

    So pretty, delicious and healthy!

  9. Dreena says:

    Thanks for this recipe. I like peaches as well. We just got a blender and I’ve started to make smoothies (at first they did not taste too great!).
    Cheers.

  10. Pingback: California Peaches Bring Summer Through the Snow (Recipes) | Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

Leave a Reply

