Steak and Mozzarella Veggie Salad (Low Calorie Recipe)

With all the fresh produce available in the summer at reasonable prices, and my continued work on healthier eating, I’ve found myself eating a lot of salads lately (I’m surprised I’m actually not green and leafy at this point).

My only problem with eating salads are that a)I get bored with them after awhile and b)I tend to buy so much produce that I have to be creative to ensure that they don’t go back (I absolutely hate the idea of having to throw away food because I think it’s a waste of money and an essential resource…but I digress).

As a result, I was looking in the fridge the other day, thinking about salad and realizing that I’d gone on a produce bender.

What to do, what to do?

Suddenly bells are ringing in my head (have no fear – I wasn’t actually hearing ringing, thank heavens!)! Why can’t I make a salad without lettuce?

And this recipe was born! The beauty of this recipe (despite its deceptive name) is that you can use other types of protein as well. Leftover chicken? Throw it in! Pork loin? Give it a whirl! The flavour profile will support a variety of options – though I must admit I particularly love it with steak!

The flavour and portion size is substantial, while the calories are minimal. I’ve found that it makes a great lunch on its own, or you can put in half a pita (it’s very versatile!).

Steak and Mozzarella Veggie Salad

Ingredients
4 oz cooked steak, cut into strips
1 medium sized tomato, cubed
1/2 English Cucumber, cubed
1/4 cup grated carrots
1 oz reduced-fat mozzarella cheese, cubed
3 tbsp. fat-free Miracle Whip
2 tbsp. Sweet Onion salad dressing

Directions
1. Cube tomato, English cucumber and mix together in a bowl with carrots.


2. In a separate bowl, combine Miracle Whip and Sweet Onion salad dressing. Stir until smooth.


3. Pour sauce in with vegetables. Toss until vegetables are thoroughly covered.


4. Top with strips of steak. Sprinkle cheese on top.

Yield: 2 servings
Calories per serving: 147 calories

This entry was posted in Food, Photography, Recipes, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Steak and Mozzarella Veggie Salad (Low Calorie Recipe)

  1. Anne Taylor says:

    Yuummm this sounds heavenly! I love all of the different textures in this salad! Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Pinterest Recipes » Steak and Mozzarella Veggie Salad (Low Calorie Recipe …

  3. Janet W. says:

    This sounds delicious! I’m always looking for healthier meals to fix my family!

Leave a Reply

