Starting Strong Monday – Healthy Brunch Choices

Well, this week I am down .6 pounds which isn’t great, but I know I’m still building muscles (and I actually read an interesting article about exercise and water weight which made me wonder if I’m gaining water weight?).

I know that I’m heading in the right direction and that things will take time. In the interim, I need to develop healthier eating habits and, last week, I had a chance to try eating out for the first time! While I am strict with my eating, it is important to develop habits that last in the long-term (which is where I fell down badly the last time I lost weight as it just wasn’t sustainable!).

I went for breakfast with a friend (it was actually lunch-time – bless restaurants that have “all day breakfast”!). The day before we went out, I thought about what type of food choices I wanted to make. I never do well when faced with a surprise and, given that I knew the menu at this restaurant, seemed to make sense to plan in advance.

So what did I choose? (I knew I should have taken a picture of my food!).

I chose 2 poached eggs, 1 slice of rye toast with butter (I could have asked for butter on the side but I was living dangerously – and I am being sarcastic!) and 2 pieces of bacon.

It was heavenly! And, I realized I was able to eat out without guilt and enjoy my food! It also allowed me to stop thinking about food and just enjoy the time with my friend!

One thing that may surprise some of you is my choice to have bacon. I can almost hear you thinking, “But isn’t bacon FAT?”. Yes, you are correct. That being said, I asked for my bacon to be extra-crispy and I patted off the excess fat. Crispy bacon does have less calories because a lot of the fat is removed in the cooking process. So, when you want to feel indulgent, try a little (notice I say little!) bacon!

When eating out, what are the best choices for brunch-type foods?

Well, here is how a number of common items stack up.

Options I choose:
Eggs – 75 calories each (uncooked – remember that some preparations may be made with butter!)

Bacon – 46 calories each

Toast – approximately 100 calories per slice (unbuttered)

Fresh Fruit Cup – approximately 70 calories per 5 ounces (be sure to ask whether or not there is added sugar – it can make a huge difference in the calories!)

Items I Avoid When Eating Brunch:
Syrup – 200 per 1/4 cup

Peanut Butter – 80 calories per tablespoon

Sausage Patties – 120 calories each

Eggs Benedict – 715 calories per serving (it’s that darn Hollandaise Sauce!)

Home Fries – approximately 394 calories per 5 ounces

Small Breakfast Sausages – varies greatly (which is why I avoid them)

Jam – varies (occasionally I will ask for no butter on my toast and have jam instead)

Want to make a take-out style breakfast sandwich at home with a fraction of the calories? If so, check out my Healthy Breakfast Sandwich Recipe!

So you can eat out – the key is just choosing which items are the healthiest choices. Personally, I could eat breakfast for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner and be completely happy!
(PS The cauliflower results will be next week. The cauliflower suffered an “unfortunate incident” so I’ve had to postpone this experiment!)

This entry was posted in Food, inspiration, Life Changes, Recipes, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Starting Strong Monday – Healthy Brunch Choices

  1. Ashley S says:

    Good for you! So glad you were able to have a breakfast you felt good about! Getting healthy is a fantastic journey to be on and staying healthy is just as great! And remember, “Fat doesn’t make you fat. Calories make you fat” – Jillian Michaels. Doing what you’re doing, living life, eating balanced and watching calories – you’re totally doing the right thing!

  2. Just goes to show you. Fat doesn’t make you fat. Ie: having bacon. It’s the bread. Sugar is what does its. So you had a great breakfst but next time skip the toast and opt for tomatoes or something else 😉
    I’m going through weightloss myself…My vice is wine 😛

  3. Brandi says:

    Such great tips! And amazing how satisfying it can still be with healthier options 🙂

  4. Anne Taylor says:

    Thanks for this post and good for you for being able to enjoy your food and not feel guilty. (I know the feeling too well) Your meal of poached eggs, rye toast and bacon sounds heavenly and now I’m craving breakfast lol

  5. Bacon is a must at brunch, glad you were able to work it into your meal plan and still stay on track!

  6. I read a few months ago that bacon did not need to be cut out, just to make sure it is crispy….and I only eat crispy bacon

  7. Elva Roberts says:

    August 14-Thanks for the heads up on the calorie count of these foods. If you want to have crispy bacon at home for a special treat. Put your slice(s) between sheets of paper towelling and zap in microwave. The paper towelabsorb the fat so put plenty of them beneath your bacon. You then have really crispy bacon and the fat is removed, for the most part. Keep up the struiggle as do we all.-el03ro

  8. Soozle says:

    Great post! It’s often hard to know what is a GOOD choice when dining out & I think people sometimes avoid doing so because of that.. It’s nice to know there can be good choices that won’t hamper your progress!

    And THANKS for the link to the water retention post – I recently started a more intense work out program and have noticed a weight gain rather than decline – hopefully this explains what the heck is going on 🙂

  9. multitestingmommy says:

    Have you ever tried turkey bacon?! That is what I started having with my eggs! Yummm! You are doing so well!

  10. Pingback: Experimental again with Braised Cabbage with Bacon, Pears & Pecans (Recipe) #MoodieFoodie | Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

Leave a Reply

