I am Who I Am Who I Am (The Happiness Project)

I’m still reading the books on my massive “To Be Read” pile (I am loving reading books just because they interest me) and this month I have read what is probably the most profound book I’ve picked up in a long time – The Happiness Project.

In her book, Gretchen Rubin decides that, while she is not “unhappy” per se, she is not as happy as she could. Instead of simply accepting it, Gretchen decides to develop some commandments to live by and to tackle different issues every month.
While she isn’t 100% successful all of the time (I appreciated her story of the day she just couldn’t find a positive way initially to deal with her daughters and husband because it showed that she in, in fact, human!), it is obvious that Gretchen learned a lot about herself during this process.

The funny thing was, as I read the book, I was reminded about how often I hear people at work or in the blogosphere talk about going to conferences and how amazing it is. When I hear or read these comments, I find myself thinking, “Wow. Everyone is going to these things. Maybe I should be going.” As I read The Happiness Project, however, I realized that I have to be true to how I feel. While I am a very social person, I am also an introverted extrovert (I know – it sounds weird – but it’s true!). I have very few close friends by choice and I don’t feel comfortable in large group situations.

So, rather than feeling like I should be going because everyone else is going, I’ve realized that it’s okay to be me and not want to go to conferences. Don’t get me wrong – I think the idea of a conference where you learn things is absolutely amazing. I also think getting to know people and developing relationships is awesome. It’s just not for me.

And that’s okay.

So thanks Gretchen! I loved the book (and I’d suggest it to anyone who wants to look at how they deal with life) and I learned a lot as well. I’ve heard the sequel (Happier at Home) is coming out in early September and I’m looking forward to reading it!

This entry was posted in Books, inspiration, Life Changes, Review. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I am Who I Am Who I Am (The Happiness Project)

  1. stephy905 says:

    Sounds very interesting. I’m not a conference person either. I’m very social but also very private.

  2. Anne Taylor says:

    This book sounds super interesting and its one I should definitely read. I get being an introverted extrovert! lol

  3. Elva Roberts says:

    August 19-I loved this post. I think I know what you mean by being an ‘introverted extrovert’ because I am quite sure I am one as well. I love people but in small doses or more one on one. This book sounds like a must read. We all have to be true to ourselves or we would end up being clones of someone else,. How boring is that?!-el03ro

  4. Soozle says:

    I read and LOVED the Happiness Project! It really made me think about my own life and how I view situations/circumstances.. Really think this deserves a re-read 🙂

  5. I read this book as well and loved it! It is a must read. Took me a while but I really learned a lot. I think I have to re-read it and actually highlight and take notes. There is so much to learn from it. But it truly did help me see the happier side of life (although some days are more difficult than others).

  6. I think I need to ready this book!!!!

Leave a Reply

