Summer Reading Happened So Fast

Where the heck has the summer gone? Thinking about the summer reminds me of the movie Grease, which, in turn led me to the title of this post (ahhh….that’s how my mind works!).

Though it seems there never was enough time it seemed, I did squeeze in some reading in August and I wanted to share what I read and enjoyed with you! I’m still striving to finish 100 books in my “TBR – To Be Read” pile!
Nice Recovery by Susan Juby was one of the books I read this month. Susan Juby is an outstanding young adult author who also happens to be Canadian (do you remember the tv series “Alice I Think?” – it was based on her books!). What I didn’t know, as well, is that Susan Juby is an alcoholic who has been in recovery for many years. This book chronicles her experience and I found it fascinating in its normalcy. From the beginning of the book, Juby is quick to point out that her life had no great pivotal experiences that led her to drinking, nor did she do anything extraordinary while drinking. I found her candid reflections to be refreshing. Her manner of telling her story was also incredibly engaging. At the end of her book, Susan shares the stories of others who are also in recovery, as well as the unique dynamics that surround young people in recovery. While I’ve (happily) never experienced alcohol or substance abuse firsthand, I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants a better understanding of how alcohol can affect someone’s life and, particularly, the life of a young person.

I’m usually really good at remembering books but this summer, when I picked up Not That Kind of Girl by Siobhan Vivian it took me a couple of chapters to realize that I’d actually read this book earlier this year. DOH! Since I didn’t share it with you when I read it earlier, I thought I’d share it now (though my recollection of the book is a bit fuzzy). From what I remember, it is a YA book about a “perfect” girl named Natalie who becomes Student Council President. Her life is thrown into turmoil when she falls in love (and hooks up with) a guy at school and is further complicated by a new student (who she babysat when they were both younger) who is very provocative. Natalie finds her trying to figure out when and how to do the right thing and grows up a great deal along the way. It was semi-light reading and very much geared to young adults.

And, to feed my love of suspense novels, I also read The Devil’s Bones by Jefferson Bass. I’d heard a great deal about Jefferson Bass (who, I know realize, is really the pen name for two men who write the books together!) but I’d never read any of his books before. While this book is part of a series, Bass does a great job of making it very easy to pick up this book and read it as a single title. The story revolves around Bill Brockston, a forensic anthropologist and the cases that he investigates. There is murder, mayhem, an escaped killer with a grudge and much more! I really liked the book – it was easy to read and really interesting (which is perfect for me as I love to read books just to escape and relax). I plan on reading other books by Jefferson Bass as I really enjoyed this one!

I’m also in the midst of reading a few other books so I may have some other recommendations before August is over!
*As with all the books I’ve been sharing in my TBR Challenge, I have purchased or borrowed these books on my own and am just sharing because I think it may be of interest to my readers!*

This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer Reading Happened So Fast

  1. stephy905 says:

    I have quite the TBR pile too. I like sounds of The Devil’s Bones. Right now I’m in the middle of Dracula.

  2. Anne Taylor says:

    I’m a big fan of Susan Juby’s but I’ve not read Nice Recovery yet! The summer has gone by quickly, but here in Victoria, its been very short lol

  3. Elva Roberts. says:

    April 16- I am late in reading this post but I am very happy to have done so. I love murder mysteries and I intend to look up ” Devil’s Bones’ in our local library. Thank you for this review. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

