Sweet Potato Salad with Raisins & Spiced Nuts – #MoodieFoodie to the rescue!

So, lately I’ve been feeling a bit “blah”. I really want to eat more vegetables but I have trouble being creative sometimes – what can I do that is tasty and easy to make! Well, thanks to the Moodie Foodie app from Sobeys, I found one to try! And, funny as it is, I found it under “Wishy-Washy” – which has totally matched my mood!

So I tried my hand at Sweet Potato Salad with Raisins & Spiced Nuts! I did tweak the recipe a bit to match my tastes.

Sweet Potato Salad with Raisins & Spiced Nuts
-from the Moodie Foodie app

Ingredients

2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced into 1 inch cubes
1 tbsp. white wine vinegar
1 tbsp. fresh lime juice (I used bottled lime juice instead)
2 tsp. Sensations by Compliments Cilantro Seasoning Paste
1 tsp. sugar
1/4 tsp. each salt and pepper
3 tbsp. olive oil
1/2 cup diced red pepper
1/3 cup Compliments Golden Raisins
1/3 cup finely sliced Compliments Organic Green Onions
3 tbsp. roughly chopped Sensations by Compliments Jalapeno Kettle Cooked Peanuts
(I don’t like Jalapeno flavour so I substituted 3 tbsp. soya nuts)

Directions

  • In a large saucepan simmer sweet potatoes in salted water over medium heat for approximately 10 to 12 minutes or just cooked through. Drain and cool.

  • Meanwhile, whisk together vinegar, lime juice, cilantro paste, sugar, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Whisk in olive oil and set aside.

  • Just before serving, gently mix potatoes into dressing, along with red pepper. Adjust seasoning, if necessary, and garnish with raisins, green onions and chopped peanuts.

I am totally impressed because this recipe is flavourful and actually allows me to see sweet potatoes in another light (I never would have thought of making a sweet potato salad!). Little One absolutely loved this recipe – she even asked for seconds!

Thanks to the Moodie Foodie app – and don’t forget to enter the giveaway – it will give you a chance to try out the Moodie Foodie app from Sobeys and enter for a chance to win a $50 Sobeys gift card!

This entry was posted in Food, Photography, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sweet Potato Salad with Raisins & Spiced Nuts – #MoodieFoodie to the rescue!

  1. Anne Taylor says:

    This sounds fantastic and super tasty! I’m sure my hubby and I could eat this for a very satisfying meal!

  2. Florence C says:

    Look good might give a try minus the salt. good way to use some of the green onions hubbie has growing.

  3. Soozle says:

    Great looking recipe indeed! For some reason, I have never thought of using a sweet potato (even though I LOVE them) for a potato salad!

    Thanks for sharing!

  4. Pingback: Experimental again with Braised Cabbage with Bacon, Pears & Pecans (Recipe) #MoodieFoodie | Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

  5. kitblu says:

    I haven’t tried (or even heard about) cilantro paste. Is it just cilantro in oil? I would use the jalapeno peanuts. Sweet, spicy and salty. Can’t go wrong!

  6. Sarah p says:

    I have always been so skeptical of adding raisins to anything, even though I love them on their own or cover in chocolate 🙂 My little one would love this, sweet potatoes are her favourite!

  7. Elizabeth Matthiesen says:

    I’m not really a fan of sweet potatoes but I’ve also never thought of adding raisins to them. I do often add raisins when I make a grated carrot side dish and that tastes fantastic so it looks like I’ll be making this salad and trying it out.

Leave a Reply

